Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bath

Very well run traditional hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Traditional décor, furnishings; comfortable beds; warm and hospitable staff; right on the beach, reasonable size pool; two good restaurants
Cons: The beach by the hotel is public, so difficult to swim if female. Very modest area of Zanzibar. Some standard rooms are small.
Location: Great position in Stone Town with best of sea views and close to all amenities.
We stayed one night in Serena and liked it enough to spend our final night in Zanzibar there. This is a lovely traditional building with very good restaurants and welcoming staff who are unfailingly polite and helpful. We really enjoyed the sea location, yet in a quiet square in the heart of Stone Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Gorgeous view, lovely hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, room decor, location, pool.
Location: Perfect location with easy access to The spice market as well as other shops and restaurants.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in luxury and comfort in Stone Town. The seaside setting along with the friendly staff and superb accommodations cannot be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago IL

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Zanzibar is an interesting city situated on the Indian Ocean. Everyone that came into contact with us in hotels or restaurants were friendly and helpful. However, I am not going to lie, I am not certain I felt welcome by the local citizens. There were a few nervous moments at the major market as well as bomb sniffing dogs called in to check out our hotel. Also, most places do not take credit cards. Cash only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Songbird100from Scotland

Brimming with character

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Expensive but a beautiful hotel. If you don't plan to use the pool I think there are some equally nice hotels in the vicinity for much less money but without pools. I think I would try one of them next time. Ask for a room on the upper most level with a view of both the pool and the beach. Other than the suites, they have the best views. Sugar cane drink at the evening food market in the gardens is a must!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, and Terrace Restaurant

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very good and nice room with lot of space. Swimming pool OK, but one could not go directly to the beach. Terrace Restaurant on top was nearly empty at this low season, lot of things on meny so not fresh e.g. lobster medalions very small and dry (perhaps from frozen state), resulting in expesive meal. The Mangapwani Beach drive took 40 min, not good to swim at low tide, but then beach OK. at high tide beach small. OK restaurant at The Mangapwani Beach. Breakfast very good at Serena.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Honestly: paradise

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Probably the best hotel I have been too this year. Amazing service, amazing view and location, amazing rooms. Afordable restaurants and minibar...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristenfrom Göteborg

Great hotel in Stonetown

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel with a very nice atmosphere. Good location in Stonetown. Very helpful staff that will go out of their way to make your stay easy and relaxing. One of the few hotels in Stonetown with a swimming pool. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastisk opphold

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Kan absolutt anbefale dette hotellet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pierre

schönes Hotel in sehr zentraler Lage

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Die Lage, das schöne Design der Lobby, und die gute Lage natürlich
Cons: Die Zimmer sind für 2 Personen zu klein, wenn man grosse Koffer dabei hat.
Location: Stadtbesichtigung von Stone Town
Hotel liegt gleich am Strand, beste Lage, netter Pool mit Blick aufs Meer, gutes Restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dereborn/Höglund

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com