Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

A very lovely hotel in a very nice town

Posted Jul 21, 2015
I was very impressed by Hotel aan de Dam and will definitely stay there again the next time I'm in Middelburg. It's located in a nice old building in the centre of Middelburg, about 5 to 10 minutes' walk from the railway station. My room was very spacious and decorated in a wonderful way that combined excellent facilities (comfortable bed, Dyson air heater/cooler, coffee machine, kettle, good TV, sofa), with originality and a little quirkiness (an old record player with a nice selection of vinyl LPs, wall-mounted lamps with little model birds in them), and even a little glass of locally produced sweets. The bathroom was also spacious with very nice toiletries. Everything was spotless. In short, it was very comfortable and homely. The breakfast was excellent, too, including freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh bread, proper coffee, but not quite enough fruit for my liking. The wifi is free and fast, and all the members of staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel With Character

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Our room was superb. It was like stepping back in time. But what really made the difference was the owners and their staff. They truly cared.
Cons: The hotel is a re-styled mansion with multiple stairs. This may be a problem for folk with a disability.
Location: Middelburg is a very nice, safe, clean town in the Netherlands. Easy to walk around. Plenty of shops. Plant of places to eat and people watch.
This hotel exudes atmosphere. The rooms are very spacious with high ceilings and huge windows. My wife and I were honored to be allocated a beautiful room overlooking the back garden. The room was tastefully decorated with a lounge area. The refrigerator contained free drinks and water which is always a nice touch that some of the mainstream hotels could learn from. You could also purchase half bottles of good quality wine for a mere 5 euro. You could tell the personal touches the owners place in our room and throughout the hotel. But it was the bathroom that was the icing on the cake. The bath, newly installed was made entirely of wood. Something I have not seen before. The spacious shower room had a double shower head. The staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was superb. The hotel is in a great location. Easy to find and plenty of parking nearby. You have to pay to park but the hotel offers an excellent discounted rate. All in all it was a joy to spend time in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

leuk hotel vlakbij centrum en goed ontbijt

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: monumentaal pand. ligging
Cons: onderhoud (raam rot, lamp kapot en haakje los)
Persoonlijke service van personeel, zeer behulpzaam en vriendelijk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Hôtel avec un véritable caractère

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Bien situé, des chambres toutes différentes avec chacune un charme particulier, un personnel incroyablement poli. Que dire de plus ?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oosterhout nb

Karakteristiek herenhuis midden in Middelburg

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Plaats, het gebouw zelf....de aandachtspunt individuele gasten. Ook de Hulp omtegen gereduceerd tarief de auto vlak bij het hotel te kunnen parkeren.
Cons: De achterzijde van het huis mag een opknapbeurt hebben evenals de tuin.
Location: Middelburg Bruist. Altijd is er wel wat te doen....dit hotel ligt midden in het centrum en is daarom als uitvalsbasis zeer geschikt.
Een week voor ons verblijf een nette herinneringsmail gehad. Door de kleinschaligheid is er aandacht voor de individuele gast. Personeel is bijzonder aardig. Hotel heeft ook aandacht voor de plaatselijke cultuur....was gastheer/ vrouw voorMiddelburgVolkoren. In de ontbijtruimte werden uitvoeringen gegeven door enkele artiesten. Voor volgend jaar hebben we reeds een boeking gedaan! Let wel....het hotel heeft geen lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful old hotel with original features and lov

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: It had all original features. Very quiet location despite being near the centre of the town.
Cons: to be fair it could do with just a slight bit of redecorating in places.
Location: shops, churches, restaurants, Markets, canal and bike hire all nearby.
Well within walking distance of the centre of Middleburgh this hotel was just right for us. Set amongst other magnificent old Dutch buildings it was a comfortable retreat. Great breakfasts and service. Would definitely stay again when visiting this part of Holland. If you find stairs difficult this may not be the one for you as it has no lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leiden

Prima hotel.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Prima hotel. Vriendelijk personeel. Prettige kamer. Centrale ligging. Goedkoop parkeren. Een goede prijs. Prima ontbijt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Immer wieder gerne!

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Das Hotel überzeugt durch seinen klassischen,ursprünglichen Charakter. Das Zimmer war zwar klein, dafür aber sehr charmant eingerichtet und bot trotzdem genügend Komfort. Das Personal war stets ansprechbar und freundlich. Das Frühstück überrascht durch seine Individualität. Wer es klein, aber fein mag, ist hier genau richtig. Ich würde das Hotel immer wieder besuchen und empfehle es gerne weiter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patricia from Groot-Bijgaarden

charmant hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
vriendelijk personeel charmant hotel kamers aan vernieuwing toe superlekker ontbijt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good and Nice, 5 stars service.

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast is impressive and people are nice.