Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Luxury without the noise of a large hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Staff are extremely friendly and polite. The suite very spacious.
Cons: The lift could do with an overhaul.
Location: The location of the hotel was in walking distance from where we had to be. At the same time we enjoyed the walk by the Zurich sea.
The reception on arrival, the bell boy, the service, the bar, etc. have only enhanced our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

quiet luxury

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Smaller hotel in quiet area. Rooms and service were A-superb. Cannot wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by martin from uk

Smart compact friendly place to stay

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Good size not too big, friendly home from home type atmosphere.
Cons: Free Wi fi in the room. Bit silly charging for internet and plugging in still.
Location: Lake 2 minutes walk Main shopping 5 minutes walk
Whole experience was excellent . The suite was very comfortable clean smart spacious and the service was really pleasant. Good location for the main shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great 22 room hotel in quiet area.

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Enjoyable experience, restaurant food and staff are good,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J from Toronto

Exceptional Service

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Alden is a wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of Zurich. Its central location makes exploring Zurich an easy task. The staff were very professional, attentive and genuinely interested in making our stay a most enjoyable experience, starting with the welcome champagne to excellent restaurant and bar recommendations. Our suite was luxurious, large, tastefully decorated and with a very comfortable bed and a pillow menu. Fruit, nuts, chocolates and mini bar contents are complimentary. If you are seeking top service, great location and wonderful amenities, you will want to consider the Alden.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

ALDEN - use it the winter time

Posted Aug 3, 2013
We stayed at Alden for two nights in a suite. The suite has a perfect layout and is really nice. The staff are great (we felt sorry for them as they were working in a sauna-like environment. The funny part was that they had lit candles by the reception - to add to the luxury tone). The location is fantastic. The problem is that it was quite hot outside and the A/C unit is way under capacity. It was so hot in the suite that it made it impossible to sleep. It's hard to understand why luxury does not include comfort. The staff said that they will ask maintenance, but nothing changed. Next day we went and bought an electric fan; somehow we got some sleep on the second night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great base for a surprising city

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: The room - spacious and comfortable
Location: Near the best bits of the city and the lake - ideal
Staff, room and location were all magnificent - cannot fault the Hotel at all
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by KK

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
not a 5 star hotel. bed was very hard and the bedroom smelled of wet dog. the food from room service was far below acceptable quality for the prices. upsides were the room was spacious and the staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com