Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

TV Stations

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly and location
Cons: See comments above concerning need for financial and sports TV channels
Location: No comment
All good except no financial TV nor sports stations offered. Suggest CNBC and ESPN. Otherwise, all good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlantic Beach, FL

Wonderful location, helpful & knowledgeable staff

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, free breakfast, comfortable bed, good price.
Location: I could walk everywhere I had on my list to go-the rail, Old Town, great restaurants, the lake and night clubs.
I had a great experience at Hotel Basilea! Great location, close to the train, and lake-right in the heart of Old Town. I got there early and was able to check right in to a nice clean room with a comfortable bed. With there being no a/c I kept my window opened, which was quite charming with the church bells softly chiming in the background. I could even see the cathedral from my room. The staff was very helpful accommodating, getting me everywhere I wanted to go (I am not good with maps) and assisting me with tea in the evening to help with my sore throat. The complimentary breakfast was fresh and good-nothing fancy, but filling and delicious. With Zurich being one of the most expensive cities in the world this was a great price for the hotel as well. I highly recommend Hotel Basilea. I do not know if the people with the bad reviews of this place have ever stayed in Europe...Europe = no a/c and small rooms. This is a great option!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bateman, Western Australia

Comfortable but no air conditioning

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Facilities were clean.
Cons: Provide air conditioning in the whole hotel, including the room where breakfast was served.
Location: Was convenient walking distance to city centre across the river, and plenty of cafes and restaurants around every corner and lane.
Facilities were comfortable but with no air conditioning anywhere in the hotel, it was very warm. Opening the double glazed window allowed noise and cigarette smoke to enter. Were able to borrow a desk fan (usually 30 Swisse francs refundable deposit) which made it bearable. Must have been the 'red light district' with numerous sex shops and prostitutes waiting on the corner, although we felt quite safe walking about, even at night. Being July, the city is just buzzing with outdoor dining everywhere, late into the evening.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by G. Shenk from San Francisco

Beware in summer

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
POSITIVES: The hotel is immaculately clean and is located near a lively, restaurant-filled street and is within walking distance of the main railroad station. Breakfast is ample and was included. Service is friendly and, of course, multilingual. NEGATIVES: No rooms are air-conditioned, which can be a real problem in summer because the rooms are small and have no cross ventilation. Also, if you are sensitive to the fact that professional ladies hang out on a nearby street corner, this might not be the best hotel choice for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Vic from London

Very good

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked the single room and this was spacious enough just for my needs. The room was clean and the hotel was not hard to find. All you will expect in a hotel of this standard.
3 out of 5
by Neil M from London

Serves well enough with the basics

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Located a short walk from the station in the old town area. Quite enough but a little basic in terms of facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ANNIE Yang from Taiwan

Nice

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Annie Yang from Taiwan

Good

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Steven Foo from Singapore

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasant reception and helpful on giving direction and public transportation route.Good house keeping. Provided bottled water for each occupants.. a pleasant surprise in Switzerland.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
ok, nothing special for the price, but then that's switzerland prices for you!