Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Shek

Okay

Posted Oct 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel was okay. Location was great. I wish they had WiFi. The daily breakfast (which they brought to the room) was very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disco in your room until the early hours

Posted May 12, 2012
The disco which booms in the rokms until the early hours should be notifed to clients
2 out of 5
by Niles from Pensacola, FL

Minimalist hotel but centrally located - for a younger crowd

Posted Dec 1, 2011
This hotel does not have much to offer in terms of service - it is not even staffed in the evenings. The "lobby" consisted of a corner desk and *one* chair for a guest. The rooms were sparsley furnished. It did have free breakfast, and free WiFi, which were a plus. The hotel's location is probably its best and worst aspects. It is centrally located to the pedestrian zone on the right side of the Limmat, within walking distance of basically everything in the center of Zurich. However, it is located in the same building as two nightclubs. I stayed on a Monday night, and it was quiet. But, I am told that it can be extremely noisy on a week-end night. Even the clerk who checked me in recommended that if I were to come back, I should get a room on the 5th floor, where it is quieter. While the service was minimalist, the three staff members I interacted with were pleasant and accommodating. I would say the hotel might appeal to a younger crowd.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen UK

The Goldenes Schwert Hotel in Zurich

Posted Nov 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
While the Goldenes Schwert Hotel appears to be an acceptable option in Zurich in terms of rates and location, it has got a major inconvenience for business/family travellers: it is co-located with a lively nightclub. Loud dance music can be heard across the whole hotel building up to 4am (I stayed on a Tuesday). The website description does mention the existence of a nightclub, but one never realises that it is compulsory to listen to its music during the entire night. Needless to say, a quiet night sleep is out of question. On the positive side the rooms are spacious and clean,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nowhere

Unless hard of hearing/deaf don't stay here

Posted Oct 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Conveniently hidden away in the description of the hotel and conditions it mentions the hotel has two discos running to 4am everyday...and that a quiet room cannot be guaranteed. TRUST ME - unless you are hard of hearing/immune to noise or deaf, you will NOT be able to sleep due to the noise and vibration. We were on the 3rd floor which may be the worst, but just don't risk it. NO price is worth staying here which is a pity - the location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

good for one night enroute to Italy

Posted Jun 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel was easy to find from the station and ideally located in the old town enabaling a quick look at the main tourist sights. However right in the centre of the night club district and the provided ear plugs were needed! No restaurant so room service for breakfast ,which was very generous. Booking had implied no breakfast so this was a welcome bonus, especially as Switzerland is VERY expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very good value for money but the disco

Posted May 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
I had a very good pleasent stay, the service, the location is very central, the breakfast in the morning. The only downside is the noise of the disco that starts at 10pm and stops at 4am. I had to wear ear plugs but not my wife.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great quiet hideaway to stay at

Posted Feb 25, 2010
This hotel is a great little hideaway to be able to stay at and relax. We enjoyed everything about it, and we felt right at home...from the comfort of the room to the friendly and helpful service. The hotel is also situated in a quaint little area, surrounded by many shops and restuarants in walking distance. Has a wonderful atmosphere to take a walk through at night. And for those concerned, the hotel has no a/c in the rooms...so it gives you a chance to enjoy the night air.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CYPRUS

NEVER AGAIN

Posted Dec 3, 2009
HOTEL IS GUY EXCLUSIVE HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!! I DON`T MIND STAYING IN GUY HOTEL HOWEVER I SHOULD BE INFOIRMED IN ADVANCE I THINK....HUGE NOICE IN THE EVENING THERE IS NIGHT CLUB NEXT DOOR...COULD`T SLEEP