Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very do it yourself stay

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: The bed and bedding was very comfortable and it was very quiet.
The hotel is a bit difficult to find as there was no sign or indication of it unless you walk around to the side where the entrance is. Once there it reeked of smoke both in the room and in the hallway. The window in the bathroom was left open and it was raining so there was water all over the bathroom when we got there. The wifi is impossible to connect to unless you have a Swiss phone or international coverage so that you can receive the text for the code required to access the wifi, and there is no staff present to help with such matters. On the phone the staff was very unrelenting when trying to change the dates of our stay making us book again and refusing to refund even though I called within 10 minutes of booking. The wardrobe had a sizable tear into it, much like a baseball bat was taken to it once in life.
1 out of 5
by denos from uk

the werst hotel in my life experience.

Posted Sep 23, 2013
what can i say there is no wards can explain my experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, but they need staff

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Overall, this place was nice. I had my own bathroom, a queen size bed, a fridge and microwave. It was pretyy clean too. They need a better system to access the Internet...it requires a working phone to get a passcode. My phone only works on wifi internationally. I lucked out by finding someone who worked there that had a phone I could use. If they keep this system, they should provide a phone in the entrance. Once you're connected, it works great. I didn't like that my room was on the first floor...I felt like i couldnt leave the windows open at night or while i was gone during the day. One curtain was completely sheer and that window faced a parking lot...that really bothered me both because of privacy and light. It would also be nice if they provided city maps. I ended up finding one at the train station. I also think they should have someone there to answer questions at a specified time. They dont need to staff it 24/7, but what if something was wrong or you needed directions or advice on an attraction? Other than the 1 person I saw the day I checked in, I didn't see any other staff. They don't even give you an email or address if you need to contact them...seems unsafe to me. This hostel is on the edge of the red light district, but it really wasn't bad. Not loud at night and only a few bars advertising extras.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from San Francisco

good value

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: central location
Cons: clear posting of house number & it would be nice if the cleaning crew would not already want access to the room before 9 am.
Location: it is right inside the red light district
The room was as advertised and the bed was comfortable. I picked this hotel because it is close to the main train station. The place was difficult to find for me. The street name was nowhere to be found and the house number also seems to be missing. Once I finally found the place all worked as expected. I was a bit unsure if the automatic key pick up would work. And it did. By entering the last digits of my confirmation number I could get my key from a machine outside the building.
3 out of 5
by Jyo

Hotel near Main Rly,. Station.

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Maintenance staff should be changed.
Location: Hotel is centrally located and is close to many attraction in Zurich.
Took us some time to reach the hotel which was more than a KM from the station. There is a frige in the room but no microwave. Room was good but the maintenance was very poor. Towels were not changed. The bathroom tissue paper was not available in the room. We had to buy and use it. No one was nearby to complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Good place to stay

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: good size room
Cons: wifi
Location: just ok
No complaints except wifi sporadic. I actually wrote a quite lengthy review but it disappeared...sorry
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by PH Lohnes

Red lights and well...

Posted Oct 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
What is not said in the other evaluations is that this guesthaus is smack dab in the middle of Zurich's famous langerstrasse red light district. For adults it might be an interesting sidelight; however, I would not suggest it for those with children unless you are willing to discuss the "facts of life" with them. ;-) The guesthaus is very hard to find (even the local Zurich Police Criminal Division officers didn't know where Brauerstrasse was), and then you have to got six blocks to the owning hotel's central reception to check in and get your key. The room was very clean, well apportioned and sizable with both refrig and microwave. In addition they had a euro hotpot for coffee (provided) and it was nice to have a bag of popcorn while we walked the red light district for some local color. ;-) The room was a bit pricey, but all of Zurich is culture shock when you have to pay over nine dollars for a cup of Starbucks (which we didn't do) and over twelve for a sandwich.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by mengistu

Posted Jul 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is placed in the most disgusting neighbouring hoods which I did not like it at all. The reception is also located in a different place which is also not convenient for some one who carries baggage. But the people at reception are helpful. We had managed to change our hotel to a branch located in another place. The branch hotel was so nice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2012 on Hotels.com