Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leawood, KS

Excellent Service & Modern Hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Staff was warm, welcoming and provided excellent service. Compared to other hotels we stayed at in Zurich, Helmhaus is rated best.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Old town right out the door. Restaurants and shopping within minutes by foot. Zurich HB less than 10 minutes. View of Limmat River.
Best location for walking distance to all of the best restaurants and museums. Zurich HB about 10 minutes by foot. The old town is right outside the door. Check in was great - very easy and fast. We were offered local Swiss wine after check in and it was delicious. The room was nice, felt more like we were at a nice room in someone's home than a hotel, very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very modern and had great water pressure. Lots of outlets in room made it easy to power up 2 cell phones, curling iron and use hair dryer at same time. Had no problem using US electric adapter. The staff were excellent and very friendly. We had to leave for US bound flight at 5:45AM and staff delivered breakfast (croissants, fruit, coffee, bottled water etc) to our room while we were getting ready so we could eat breakfast before our early departure for flight - that's Excellent Service!! Will definitely stay again at Helmhaus when in Zurich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wa

Great place

Posted May 9, 2015
Great service and location. Everyone was so helpful. Very quiet hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom usa

Nice hotel close to attractions and restaurants

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The hotel is located in one of the best areas in town, walking distance to major attractions and great restaurants. The staff is incredibly polite and friendly. The breakfast buffet easily met expectations. While the hotel building is supposed to be 100s of years old, there are no signs of it except in the fact that the rooms are small. The rooms are, in fact, quite modern and easily convey a boutique feeling. So, if one is hoping (like me) to stay in a historic property, then one could be disappointed. Overall, it was a great experience staying at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom herts

fantastic customer service

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: location, breakfast and customer service
Location: in the old town, close to a tram stop and the river, museums etc
A very warm welcome, nothing we requested was too much trouble, wonderful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin

Best stay in Zurich, yet!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: In addition to all that I mentioned above, the best was the continental breakfast. It had so many things that were all fresh and delicious.
Cons: I hate to even mention it, but I could easily hear the footsteps of the guests above (but no voices, so that was fine).
Location: It's super close to the old town, bars, restaurants and the Grossmunster. It is steps from the Limmat where there are many nice places to sit.
I have stayed in 5 hotels in Zurich. This was my favorite. The location was wonderful, the staff was super-nice and friendly. The rooms were great. The bathrooms were modern and comfortable. The decor was crisp and clean. Even the artwork used throughout the hotel was well selected (all by one artist, so it added a nice uniformity throughout the hotel). I spent 4 days there with my teenage son on business, and it had everything we both wanted (lots of wifi and a good shower for him, great decor, comfortable beds and Swiss duvets for me). The breakfast was great (my son probably drank a whole pitcher of fresh orange juice every morning)! I also liked how it was so close to the tram.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Kleines gemütliches Hotel in der Altstadt mit sehr nettem Personal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Excellent location along the Limmat River and friendly and helpful staff. Great Swiss breakfast included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Daliafrom San Francisco

Great location, small spotless hotel, great staff

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
This hotel is small but very functional, clean and at a fantastic location. The hotel staff, and especially the front desk manager, Mario, were exceptionally pleasant, warm, helpful, and professional. I would definitely come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent business hotel in the old town

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excellent business hotel in the old town on walking distance from Zurich main station.