Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J from Worcestershire UK

Excellent hotel,location,tourist sights,transport

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent, with excellent transport links, good value for money in a country where everything is considerably more expensive than England
Cons: Nothing
Location: Most Zurich city sights within easy walking distance or easy quick tram ride away. The main train station is only 4 tram stops with access to Europe.
Quiet yet in central Zurich. Rooms very comfortable, clean everything you need. Breakfast excellent variety of fresh food. TIP- ask for a jug of hot water to weaken strength of coffee brings it more in line with regular excellent coffe ordinarily enjoyed in England. An early continental breakfast can be accommodated to allow early departure for flights or trips. Staff extremly helpful, interested in providing you with your best ever holiday expereince, nothing is too much trouble. Everyone speaks excellent English and what they do not know they will find out for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by WJK from London

Business traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Very centrally located. Public transport links close by.
Hotel is situated very centrally and close to all transport links. Room was very tidy and a good size. Very good breakfast. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely return to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean. Efficient. Courteous.

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Very comfortable stay. Good rooms. Good beds.Great bathrooms.Decent breakfast. Highly recommended. Also nicely and centrally situated. Good for the business traveler. No view from rooms though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Australia

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: The staff, level of cleanliness and location
Cons: My room was on the small size but most rooms are in Zurich.
Location: Great shopping all around the hotel. Nearby Cafe Odeon was good for food and drinking.
I stayed for 5 nights for business. The hotel was very central to everything I needed. It was very comfortable with great staff. I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Melbourne, Australia

ideal location and lovely staff

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: location, comfort
Location: Tram stop is about five minutes' walk - over cobbles. There is also a train to and from the airport just seven or eight minutes' walk.
Hotel Helmhaus is a small but perfect destination with warmth, style and a feeling that you are the only guest there, even when it's busy. The staff are really friendly and helpful, especially Mario, and this hotel thoroughly exceeded all my expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, great breakfast

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Belinda from London

Boutique hotel in central location

Posted Nov 24, 2013
This small hotel is perfectly situated close to the lake, the old town and the business district. The rooms are compact, but clean with all the essentials. The only gripe would be the poor sound insulation between rooms and the ugly plastic counter in the bathroom. However, all is outweighed by the superb service at Helmhaus. The staff is exceptionally friendly and service-oriented. Our trip continued to a fancy 5-star hotel afterwards, and we much missed the friendliness and courteousness from Helmhaus. The breakfast is perfectly adequate, the food is fresh and the coffee is good. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Helmhaus pleasure

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: It did all the simple things extremely well
Cons: Shower was very small. Bathroom should have been extended - too much dead space in the bedroo.
Location: Kunsthaus, Bellevue, Schiller Brasserie, Cafe Alstad, Cafe Rosely, Schaffhausen waterfalls, Fraumunster church, patisseries, antiquarian bookshops
We spent four days here after two previous days at the Dolder Grand, surely a candidate for one of the most overrated, overpriced hotels around. Luckily, as I was speaking at a conference there, I did not pay for it. Helmhaus is a small, unpretentious hotel with a warm welcome and excellent housekeeping. It is bang in the middle of the old town but Zurich is not that big so everything generally sccessible.