Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by annon365 from Scotland

Pleasant Stay at the Hotel Meierhof.

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: The convenient location and the consistent friendly staff.
Cons: Firmer pillows, although alternative pillows are available, they were all out except the posture type which was too firm for our liking.
Location: Horgen is a small town South of Zurich on the West side of Lake Zurich. Well placed for visits around the Lake. Recommend Rapperswill by train or ship
My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Meierhof for one week, and it was a recreational visit, not a business trip. The hotel is situated across from the town bus and railway station, also the Taxi Rank. It is a few minutes pleasant walk from both the shuttle ferry and the Lake Zurich passenger lake cruiser terminals. The Hotel is very well placed for travel needs. A very punctual train service runs frequently direct to Zurich including Zurich Airport (39 mins Zurich Airport to Horgen). The lake side town of Rapperswill is a short train ride or 1 hour on the Lake Cruiser and is worth a visit. The hotel is well maintained, very clean and staff always polite and friendly. The bar on the top floor has tremendous views over Lake Zurich and serves very good food in the evenings. There are also a number of alternate eating places within a few minutes walk. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel for location, friendliness and cost, the latter being in comparison to Zurich where we stayed last year. There are coffee making facilities in the room but not generally used due to the free gratis fresh ground self service coffee machine in reception, which would give a number of high street coffee houses a run for their money. Staying in October we still needed to use the air conditioning to remain cool at night, do not know if all rooms have air conditioning, so if you like a cool room at night best check.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from UK

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Good breakfast selection. The flat screen TV has a good selection of programmes, including UK news
Cons: Pillows were poor, giving little support. There was no extra blankets, which could be requested No tea / coffee / kettle in room Meals expensive
Location: Good location aside the lake and train station. 25 mins to centre of Zurich. Good selection of shops and banks close by; EXCELLENT train service
The hotel has friendly multilingual staff and a gym on site, most of whom speak good English. It is opposite the railway station but the noise level is not oppressive and the benefit of its location far outweighs this small negative. There is a good selection of banks and shops adjacent to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great Experience

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Location, breakfast and satff.
Cons: nothing
Location: Horgen is a small town with very nice restaurants, we used this as a central point to vists Rigi, Luzern and Zurich. Endless things to see and do.
The hotel is located on Lake Zurich with the train station very close for easy movement arount Switzerland. The breakafst (which was included) was excellent and set you up for a great day. The hotel staff were very helpful in all our requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by papj3211 from London

Uncomfy Beds

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good view from the restaurant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zaq from Philadelphia

Great Hotel, but alittle far from Zurich

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Comfort of the rooms, great staff;aeutiful view from the breakfast lounge
Cons: Proximity to downtown Zurich b(not too bad)
Location: Good restaurants are located nearby, as well as some decent shopping options.
The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. English was spoken widely so there were no communication barriers. The run was small (that's Europe for you), but very nice and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was sufficient, not great, but the few over the lake is worth the price. Horgen is alittle far from the airport (30 minutes by train) and downtown Zurich (20 minutes by train), bu there are several good restaurants located nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a most comfortable hotel with an incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The view from the fifth floor dining room, and the quality of the breakfast, was excellent. We enjoyed Horgen, and the convenience of the train a few feet from the hotel was a pleasant surprise. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Crewy from Albany West Australia

Nice hotel, great location on the edge of the lake

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Spacious room any very clean.
Cons: Wi Fi Internet connection
Location: Close to ferry and bus terminals. Can go anywhere on lake any time. We are a bit older so the nite life didn't interest us that much.
Great staff will help if required. Close to ferries and railway station. Breakfast was very good with nice staff. The only downside in the whole 4 day stay was the wireless Internet connection , it kept dropping out every few minutes. (very annoying ). I would recommend this hotel to a any one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Millie from UK

Beautiful hotel overlooking lake Zurich.

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: I liked the location of the hotel. It is only seconds, yes seconds away from the train station, bus station and boat station, making travelling easy.
Cons: I would have liked better toiletries in the room. Soap bars, body lotion and a few essentials like that would have been nice.
Location: The location, as mentioned earlier, is brilliant. Public transport is on the door step,of the hotel. Zurich city is only 15 minutes away by train.
I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The view from our hotel room was breath taking, over looking lake Zurich. The hotel is situated so close to the train station, making travelling from and to the airport so easy and convenient. The hotel staff are helpful and polite and are ready to guide and answer any questions with regards to finding your way around the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Kingston, ON, Canada

Recommended!

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Modern decor, friendly staff, spectacular view! The hotel is not centrally located but public transit is a short walk away. The neighbourhood is comfortable day and night. Only downside is the room had no A/C; it made for a restless, hot summer night.