Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tavi from Manchester, UK

Comfortable hotel with good access to Zurich

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: water bar on each floor free wifi in the room breakfast restaurant with great view of the lake convenient access to transport links
Cons: wifi access limit of 2 devices at one time per room (think smartphone + laptop/tablet/... for each guest in the room) pillows too soft no slippers
Our stay at Hotel Meierhof was a pleasant one, for sure. We stayed there around the New Year holiday, as we could get a good deal with the Stay 3 nights, pay for 2 offer. The hotel is clean, quiet, and the staff is quite helpful. The best thing about this place is, perhaps, the location. Horgen train station is right in front of the hotel and you can get to Zurich HB in 20 minutes if you take the S2 train; we constantly found this to be very convenient. If you plan to travel by public transport, however, please be aware that Horgen is two transport zones away from the Zurich main zone, so that's going to push up the travel costs somewhat. There's also a large bus hub and a ferry dock next to it. Some other good things: - freshly-ground coffee and hot water machine in the lobby, freely accessible; the coffee tastes quite good! - water bars on each floor, with still and sparkling water taps - the taste of the sparkling water was great - nice view of the Zurich lake, both from the rooms (if you get a lake-facing room) and from the 5th floor breakfast restaurant - a good selection of TV channels, including 3 BBC channels and ITV Some not-so-good things: - the pillows are awfully soft, almost as if half the filling was removed from each; we later realised that we could have asked replacements, but couldn't be bothered by that point - limit of 2 devices connected to the wifi at one time - slippers only on request - no water heaters in the rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by al from orlando florida

Right on lake

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Small centrally located
Cons: Heating, very cold in room
Location: Train station immediately out door then lake right behind train station, boats going by and a beautiful view. 302 I stayed in
Train station immediately in front then the lake, lovely view but cold and unable to get more heat. Very pleasant staff and good food. Beautiful area just outside Zurich.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Excellent location just across the street from the railway station where you can take the train to Zurich in 20mns. The viee from the top floor is amazing where you can enjoy a nice breakfast buffet . The staff are extremely helpful friendly. On the whole it was awesome staying at the Mierhoff and would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by B. Wolf from U.S.A.

Excellent location.

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel Meierhof is located across the road from Horgen train station, which has a direct line to the Zurich airport. From my hotel room window, I could watch boats with their full sails calmly cruising on placid Zurich Lake. The view from the hotel has given me a chance to relax from traveling and a desire to join those sailing on the beautiful lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Nov 5, 2013
It is a nice and a good location hotel. Worth to spend a holiday in it. I would recommend it to my friends apart from the noise outside the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice and clean hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Wow, we really loved our stay at the Meierhof hotel; the staff was super friendly, the room was very clean and cozy and we loved the fact that there was coffee/tea in the lobby. The breakfast was awesome and the entire experience was definitely a positive one. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Btw, the view of the lake from the bedroom is soo unforgettable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by annon365 from Scotland

Pleasant Stay at the Hotel Meierhof.

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: The convenient location and the consistent friendly staff.
Cons: Firmer pillows, although alternative pillows are available, they were all out except the posture type which was too firm for our liking.
Location: Horgen is a small town South of Zurich on the West side of Lake Zurich. Well placed for visits around the Lake. Recommend Rapperswill by train or ship
My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Meierhof for one week, and it was a recreational visit, not a business trip. The hotel is situated across from the town bus and railway station, also the Taxi Rank. It is a few minutes pleasant walk from both the shuttle ferry and the Lake Zurich passenger lake cruiser terminals. The Hotel is very well placed for travel needs. A very punctual train service runs frequently direct to Zurich including Zurich Airport (39 mins Zurich Airport to Horgen). The lake side town of Rapperswill is a short train ride or 1 hour on the Lake Cruiser and is worth a visit. The hotel is well maintained, very clean and staff always polite and friendly. The bar on the top floor has tremendous views over Lake Zurich and serves very good food in the evenings. There are also a number of alternate eating places within a few minutes walk. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel for location, friendliness and cost, the latter being in comparison to Zurich where we stayed last year. There are coffee making facilities in the room but not generally used due to the free gratis fresh ground self service coffee machine in reception, which would give a number of high street coffee houses a run for their money. Staying in October we still needed to use the air conditioning to remain cool at night, do not know if all rooms have air conditioning, so if you like a cool room at night best check.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from UK

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Good breakfast selection. The flat screen TV has a good selection of programmes, including UK news
Cons: Pillows were poor, giving little support. There was no extra blankets, which could be requested No tea / coffee / kettle in room Meals expensive
Location: Good location aside the lake and train station. 25 mins to centre of Zurich. Good selection of shops and banks close by; EXCELLENT train service
The hotel has friendly multilingual staff and a gym on site, most of whom speak good English. It is opposite the railway station but the noise level is not oppressive and the benefit of its location far outweighs this small negative. There is a good selection of banks and shops adjacent to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com