Ratings based on 950 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Good for overnighting from the airport.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Decent hotel, great and friendly staff. Just standard room, nothing special but also nothing to really complain about. Lots of towels in the bathroom, so that's nice. 2 min walk to the train station and tram stop. About a 10 minute ride to downtown on the train. Shuttle bus to and from the airport is very punctual, every 15 minutes. Would recommend for overnight stays at Zurich.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

シャトルバス チューリッヒ空港に近いがシャトルバスが30分間隔でちょっと長く感じられた。

Posted Dec 20, 2014
チェックアウトの際レセプションにいた男性(中年)がこちらを無視して、とても感じが悪かった。ヨーロッパ人を優先する態度に腹がたった。朝が早かった(午前4時半)ので機嫌が悪かったか? 若い女性のスタッフはとても感じよかったのと対照的だった。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Great Stay. Wonderful Staff. We'll stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by Moevenpick Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest thank you very much for your wonderful remarks, which we have already shared with our staff. It would be very nice to welcome you again during your next stay in Zurich. Best regards J.Eling Sales Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

It's not the ice cream.

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The staff, the ice cream and the bar.
Cons: The room windows could be tighter to seal out the nice from the motorway.
Location: Eat ice cream
I had a good stay with the hotel and was very happy with the quality of service and friendliness of the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2014 by Moevenpick Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear H Thanks for your review. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our service and our staff. We would appreciate to welcome you back soon to the Mövenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport. Warm regards, J.Eling Sales Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Köln

Sehr zentral durch Flughafennähe gelegen

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Cons: Ja, WLAN-Service sehr unkompliziert, das dieser aber mit Kosten verbunden ist, finde ich nicht in Ordnung.
Location: Da es in Flughafen-Nähe ist, sind die Möglichkeiten eingeschränkt. Zürich City ist doch noch sehr weit entfernt.
Ich habe zwar keinen Shuttle-Service genutzt, finde das Angebot aber trotzdem gut.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Moevenpick Hotel, Hotel Management
Liebe Nana Besten Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns Ihre Eindrücke zu schildern. Es freut uns zu hören, dass Sie unseren Shuttle Service positiv bewerten. Gerne möchten wir Ihnen noch mitteilen, dass ab nächstem Jahr das Wlan für alle Gäste inklusive sein wird. Wir hoffen, Sie hatten eine gute Heimreise und wir dürfen Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüssen. Freundliche Grüsse aus Zürich J.Eling Sales Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom イギリス

チューリッヒ空港にトラムで一駅2分,チューリッヒ中央駅に15分で行けるホテル

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: 立地が良いところ。
Cons: 特にありませんが,空港とチューリッヒ市街に行く電車とトラムの乗り方は事前に調べるか,ホテルで聞いておいた方が良いです。
Location: アルプス(ユングフラウヨッホ)への現地ツアーに参加するために使用しました。
スタッフの方は親切で感じの良い方ばかりでした。近くにレストランなどはありませんが,ゆっくり休みたい人には良いホテルです。
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Moevenpick Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for having taken the time to share your impression about your stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport. We are happy to read that you have appreciated your stay. It would be very nice to welcome you again during your next stay in Zurich. Kind regards, J.Eling Sales Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ontario

Spacious rooms close to the zurich airport

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Spacious room
Cons: There was a constant dripping sound in our room and it wasn't from our bathroom. Think it was the one next door.
Location: We were at the airport and only had 10 hrs between flights, including dinner and sleep. However lots at airport
All staff, including restaurant's, were polite and efficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Moevenpick Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Jo Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you were satisfied with our room quality and staff. We hope you had a safe trip back home and we would be happy to welcome you back again in the near future. Warm regards, J.Eling Sales Coordinator
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Size of the room was nice
The air conditioning in the room was not working. Didn't expect these kind of hotels exist in Zurich
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Moevenpick Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Madhuri Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to comment your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport. We regret that you had an unpleasant experience regarding the room temperature because of a problem with the air conditioning. We know that the temperature in a hotel room is a very sensitive thing and it depends on each individual guest. Please apologize for the high room temperature. I have forwarded and discussed your comment with our chief engineer. Please should during your next stay an issue like this arise, please do not hesitate to contact the reception and they will assist you immediately with their support. Comments such as yours are the best tool for us to not only maintain, but to improve our quality and our service. We trust that next time we will be able to satisfy all your requirements and expectations. We would be more than happy to welcome you back. Kind regards J.Eling Sales Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

Very comfortable stay

Posted Oct 28, 2014
We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was very clean with excellent facilities. The staff were always ready to help with any issues
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2014 by Moevenpick Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Pav First of all, let me thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write a feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will forward your comment also to our team, it will motivate them and it also helps to keep the standard up. It would be very nice to welcome you again during your next stay in Zurich. Kind regards J.Eling Sales Coordinator
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Tired, no AC, stuffy

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Very disappointing. Outdated HVAC system. Excuses. Poor service. Only thing that was well done was the apology and cancellation of my second night when I moved to another brand airport hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2014 by Moevenpick Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest First of all we thank you very much for your comment on expedia. We feel very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Please be assure that we are taken your input very serious. We regret that you had an unpleasant experience regarding the air conditioning. We know that the temperature in a hotel room is a very sensitive thing and it depends on each individual guest. Please apologize for the high room temperature, but we tried to find a solution on-site; we have offered you a fan and we also have provided to change the room but you did not accept that. We hope to have the chance to convince you at a later date and we will do our best to make your next stay more enjoyable. Best regards from Zurich J.Eling Sales Coordinator