Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2018
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford, UK

Convenient for the Gare du Nord

Posted Jan 15, 2018 on Ebookers
I stayed here because the hotel is 10 mins walk from the Gare du Nord where I had a train to catch the next morning. Overall, the hotel is OK for the price I paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Very friendly staff and kept very clean.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The main downside is the lack of elevator. It's clean, close to many amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is very nice and extremely welcoming. The area is a bit over run and a bit dangerous to walk to the train station or walk to the hotel at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Very bad area. I was afraid to go out when it was dark. There is no lift so had to carry luggage on stairs. Broken tiles in the bathroom, black areas on the ceiling. I was afraid to take shower
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malta

Very unpleasant!!!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The area is quite scary. Felt very unsafe walking to it during the day! The hotel itself is very very dark, dated, dirty and very poorly kept. There's no lift either and i didn't see this mentioned on site which is unfair of them not to mention coz the stairs were narrow and exhausting- i was on top floor. The room was tiny and terrible. It felt like a prison cell. I couldn't sleep coz i felt so unsafe. It wasn't clean. The bedding was disgusting and over used and the beds felt like it was about to collapse. Phone in room was broken along with other items. Bathroom was equally terrible. I could go on and on. This place should not operate in the state it is in!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to train station but perhaps too close

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: affordable
Cons: fans in the rooms and better window curtains that reduce street light but still allow ventilation.
Location: The location was ok during the daytime but far too noisy during the night. Lots of drinking in the street near the hotel.
The accommodations were acceptable for the cost but the neighbourhood was a little too rough around the edges for a family vacation. Lots of street noise till very early in the morning and I am not necessarily talking about vehicle noise (i.e. partying in the streets). At night we really struggled with street noise and light when we had the windows open or excessive heat when we tried closing them. Staff were good but we did have to challenge them on two separate occasions (i.e. two different people) that our booking receipt stated that breakfast was included. In both cases, they had to check the website before agreeing. Not a problem, but I was a bit of a pain to have to go through the whole discussion/process twice.
4 out of 5
by Kuriakose

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
No fan or AC in the summer. No elevators or lifts. Otherwise, hotel was acceptable. Wifi only works in lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Bed Bugs

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Cons: Bed Bugs should be gone.
Location: Close to Gare du Nord & Gare du L'est. From there you can do anything you want.
There were bed bugs. Need I say more? Nights 1 & 2 of a 3 weeks adventure with my daughter, and I spent the rest of my holiday throughout Europe wearing long sleeves so no one would see the bed bug bites all over my arms. Cost me 40 Euro to clean all of our clothes and have our backpacks steamed with an insecticide powder. Travelling with my 14 year old daughter. Loud partying all night in the street, but the windows are great for soundproofing - downside is with windows closed, room becomes very stuffy. Narrow, circular stairway going up to rooms. Would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Breakfast is typical french - half a baguette, coffee and a croissant. If you're drunk, dirty and don't care about the bugs...it's a great deal. For everyone else, stay away!
4 out of 5
by George E

Good overall!!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Good overall,friendly,good shop nearby ,no lift but we did nt mind the stairs ,exercise is good for you !!