Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything. Beautiful courtyard.

Posted Apr 24, 2018
The location is terrific. Close to shopping, restaurants and nightlife. The beaches are just a short walk away and tour buses pick up right at the corner. The pool area is beautiful and lush. Very well-maintained. Breakfast is served late, until 1030, which means no rushing in the morning. Happy hour in the lobby with h'orderves and sparkling wine is a nice touch. The staff at the hotel, from front desk to the restaurant to cleaning and maintenance were all very nice. My only complaint in regard to service was about our bathroom sink, which did not drain properly and after a couple visits from maintenance, we just gave up and made sure to use the water in short bursts only. A couple of suggestions if you plan to stay here...if you are a light sleeper, do not get a room on the north side of the hotel. Music and late-night revelry was an issue on some nights, and the window to the street did almost nothing to block it out, nor did it do much to muffle the cries of the birds, which start with sunrise. We eventually used ear plugs and that helped some. Switching rooms was not an option as the hotel was full. It would be a welcome upgrade if the hotel invested in sound-proofed windows, particularly on the street-side of the building. Also, if you have room in your luggage, you might consider bringing your own pillow. The ones in the room were a bit thick and unwieldy, making it difficult to find a sweet spot. Overall a good experience, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Beautiful oasis in busy city.

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Another chair in the king room would have been nice.
Location: You can walk to most spots in the Centro area, beaches, restaurants and clubs.
We were very impressed by the grounds and quality of the facility. The staff was marvelous and were attentive to all our needs. The rooms were spotless and the pool was relaxing. All the while, the city was racing by the front door, you could hear none of it. I would highly recommend The Magic Blue Hotel to everyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by Olga Ramos, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate your experience in Magic Blue Boutique Hotel, you opinion is very important to us. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again real soon. Have a nice day, Hotel Magic Blue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful oasis in a busy area

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Loved it, you would not know you were in one of the busiest areas of playa del Carmel , few minutes walk to ocean, abundance of shops, restaurants and bars, staff were very helpful,pool was spotless and warm ! Breakfast buffet was amazing ,poolside food was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2018 by Olga Ramos, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you very much for taking time to rate your experience in Magic Blue Boutique Hotel, your opinion is very important for us. We are happy to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Have a nice day, Hotel Magic Blue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Mar 13, 2018
Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a three week tour of Mexico Guatemala & Belize. So was quit tired and looking to recharge before flying back to London . and ticked all box’s especially friendliness & professional attitude of staff . Would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2018 by Olga Ramos, Hotel Management
Dear Bobster, Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience in Magic Blue Boutique Hotel, your comments are very important for us. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards, Hotel Magic Blue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2018
It’s a great spot close to everything!! The staff was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Olga Ramos, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience in Magic Blue Boutique Hotel. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back real soon. Have a nice day, Hotel Magic Blue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Very nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Feb 23, 2018
The hotel is a tropical oasis built around a pool with palm trees, plants, flowers etc. and central to everything. You feel like you are in Tahiti. Staff were very helpful and friendly and room was large, clean with comfortable bed. Not a lot of additional furniture but adequate with 5 drawers and closet. Buffet breakfast available in an adjoining restaurant - choice of fruit, yogurt, toast, pancakes, waffles, pastries, cereal, omelet, and selection of local dishes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Olga Ramos, Hotel Management
Dear Thomas, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience in Magic Blue Boutique Hotel, your opinion is very important for us and help us to improve the quality of our service and our product. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again real soon. Have a nice day, Hotel Magic Blue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Quiet Oasis

Posted Feb 21, 2018
This is our second stay at this wonderful hotel. The rooms are quiet and spacious. I think new mattresses are needed! Breakfast is good! Not enough chairs around pool! But overall a wonderful place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2018 by Olga Ramos, Hotel Management
Dear Mo, Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience in Magic Blue Boutique Hotel, your opinion is very important for us and help us improve the quality of our service. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your second stay with us and we hope to see you again real soon. Warmest regards, Hotel Magic Blue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peru Illinois

Great Boutique Hotel, near beach and busy-fun 5th.

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Pros: Clean, pretty (jungle feel with a lot of greens), close to beach and 5th avenue with shops and restaurants. And the staff was GREAT.
Cons: Light the paths and stairs when dark out.
Great Boutique Hotel, near beach and busy-fun 5th avenue. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Only down side is being near a popular night club....many loud people walking home when club closes. Other than that, great small hotel to stay at in Playa
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2018 by Olga Ramos, Hotel Management
Dear Peggy, Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience in Magic Blue Boutique Hotel, your opinion is very important for us. In high seasons like February the town can be quite noisy and due to our location sometimes we suffer the consequences but we are happy to know that over all, you had a pleasant experience with us and we hope to see you again real soon. Warmest regards, Hotel Magic Blue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Great service.. very clean and beautiful environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Olga Ramos, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your experience in Magic Blue Boutique Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards, Hotel Magic Blue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2018 on Hotels
Was stunning hotel, beautiful pool area, very friendly and helpful staff, rooms were very clean and well presented, comfortable beds. Great breakfast buffet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2018 by Olga Ramos, Hotel Management
Dear Sheldon, We would like to thank you for the time you took to post a review of your experience in Magic Blue Boutique Hotel, your comments are very important for us. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again real soon. Warm regards, Hotel Magic Blue