Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, UK

Friendly Inn style hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Good location close to the top of Jutland
Location: Visit to where the waters of Kattegat and the Atlantic meet. Also the home of the Skagen painters with excellent Museums.
Comfortable rooms, very good restaurant and helpful staff. Breakfast food selection very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The room was nice

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Was shocked when we arrived as it was on the main road and not what I imagined. Photos showed lots of garden greenery so I expected a large park like area which wasn't there. The rooms were set back so we're quiet. The room was nice. Food good in restaurant and huge meals. Breakfast excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Lisbeth Nissen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to answer us. Regarding the location and green area ect. - we will have a look at the photos and description on the booking page. It is importent for us that it macthes. One again thank you for your reply. Best regards Aalbæk gl. Kro L
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Clean, updated traditional Danish kro.

Posted May 6, 2017
Easy to find in the center of Aalbaek, free parking, friendly, helpful, bi-lingual staff, comfortable beds, a generous and delicious buffet is included with the room price. Also on premise a well rated, locally famous restaurant. Skagen is just a 20 minute drive up the road. It was exactly what I was hoping for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Lisbeth Nissen, Hotel Management
Hi Karen Thank you for your nice comments about Aalbæk gl. Kro we hope to see you again soon. Have a nice summer Best regards Lisbeth Nissen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old inn

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The room
Cons: Clear directions for breakfast
Location: Walk down to the harbour
Such a welcome break after some of the previous rooms on our journey. Rooms upstairs are large warm and you can control the temperature. The bed is so comfortable and duvet thick enough to get cosy. Slept well, ate well and drank well. We were traveling with an old man and could have done without the stairs, or it would have been nice to be offered help with our bags but apart from that, very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Lisbeth Nissen, Hotel Management
Hi Thank you for your response and your nice feedback. Hope to see you again another time Best regards Aalbæk gl. Kro
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington State

Convenient location.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Bar and restaurant on site making for a convenient stop
4 out of 5
by Farshad

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Lisbeth, Hotel Management
Hej Farshad Tusind tak for din bedømmelse den er vi glad for - håber snart at se dig i Aalbæk igen Mange hilsner fra Aalbæk gl. Kro
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Karlstad, Sweden

Ideal for a short stay in Jylland

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Convenient situation.
Cons: Restaurant menu is thin.
Jylland, or Jutland as we English call it, is a popular tourist area: long sandy beaches and the town of Skagen, famous for its former artistic community make it ideal for a short stay. Of course everyone wants to stay in Skagen itself, which is a mistake as parking is dreadful. Aalbaek Gamel Kro is only 20km away but offers everything one need for, say three or four nights stay. I suppose it could be described as a motel, since there is more than adequate parking and most of the rooms are in annexes. But it has a decent restaurant (small menu) and a separate area for light meals. Our (superior) room was on the upper floor of one of the annexes, both light and spacious. No lift meant lugging the cases up the exterior staircase watched by those seated in the courtyard quaffing their cold beer. Not sure what a standard room had to offer; our superior room sported a settee, a coffee table and a comfortable chair. Outside there were two chairs and a small table for those who wished to watch the folk in the courtyard. Interestingly, a week after we had booked, our local (Swedish) paper had a big article about Jylland, featured hotel was - Aabaek Gamel Kro!
4 out of 5
by Anders

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Your average experience...

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel because of its fairly good rating and the fact that it was close to Skagen (20-25 min drive). Nothing wrong with this hotel as such, its a "get what you pay for" experience. Very basic hotel, basic room, with basic breakfast. The food in the restaurant/kro is pretty good if you like traditional Danish food. This experience wasnt a disappointment nor is it a hotel I would recommend to a friend. Think we will stay at a small BnB in Skagen next time :)