Ratings based on 1,497 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Michael

Nice hotel in great location w/ cross walk beeping

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is quite large and a little confusing walking around inside. It is located in a great spot right on the main drag in town. Easy walking to shops, restaurants, waterfront. Great location. The only thing that drove me crazy was the cross walk outside makes a beeping sound all day and all night long. No way to turn it off or escape it even with the windows sealed. I almost went bonkers. Make it stop. Make it stop!
5 out of 5
by Debra

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very professional and always willing to answer any questions you had. The buffet breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017
Dear Debra. Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel another time. Have a good day Sincerely Team Phønix - Aalborg
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Phonix Hotel was very nice and wonderfully located near Old Town. I do wish there was tea-making facility in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel another time. Really good day Sincerely Team Phønix - Aalborg
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel close to the heart of the city

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Close to the heart of the city. Restaurants and sights are within walking distance.
Hotel Phoenix is an older hotel that has been renovated and brought into the 21st century. It still has that old feel to it. You may find the elevator somewhat clunky. Getting your luggage from the parking lot to your room requires lifting and dragging it a few steps before you can use the aforementioned elevator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you for the assessment of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you have had a nice stay and hope that once again we can welcome you here again at the hotel. Have a nice day Sincerely Team Phønix - Aalborg
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Ebookers
Could do with tea/coffee making facility in room. Breakfast excellent. Better with some Danish bacon on the menu.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Good location, walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants downtown. Hotel is a heritage building, tidy but not much noise insulation between rooms. The breakfast had a good selection.
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Old skool Hotel, dark wood and lush maroon decor, you feel like you are stepping back in time. A little rough around the edges, could do with a lick of paint in some area's and a re-finished front desk but clean with friendly service and a very comfy, sprung base, bed. Much better than the modern hotel mattresses. On site parking a bonus, this is not clear in the listing. Great location in the center of the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful historical hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The hotel is in a very convenient location. Easy to get to even by bus from the airport and in the downtown area. The staff was warm and helpful in many ways. I had a wonderful stay and would love to stay with them again when I visit Aalborg next time.
2 out of 5
by morten

Give us a smile!

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Bad service and a lack of smile can ruin a stay. This happened in Ålborg. The location is good, the rooms are old but clean. The first impresjon is important, even in a hotel