Ratings based on 975 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Very Disappointed

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and proximity to the town
Cons: Everything
Location: Shopping, great restaurants
Terrible check-in process, no air conditioning or adequate ventilation, zero water pressure in the shower. The room smelled bad, not due to the fact that it was a smoking room, but rather because it had not been aired out and needs new carpeting. Only two positives: proximity to Aalborg central so that you may easily walk everywhere, and the breakfast buffet was quite good. Otherwise I will never, ever stay here again. Staff was nonchalant and refused to allow us to speak with a manager to complain. This ancient grandma of a hotel is in serious need of a facelift. Surely some of the money earned at the casino can be diverted for this purpose?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Kirsten, Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location of the hotel and the options available during breakfast. We apologize you were disappointed with the service you received and the condition of the hotel and your room. We value your feedback and will use your comments when considering changes at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are totally outdated, plain and ugly. Area around hotel has many options for bars and restaurants. Lobby and common areas were being remodeled and, from what I could see, it looks like it will be a huge improvement. For now, I wouldn't stay here again until the lobby and rooms are updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We regret to hear you were dissatisfied with the condition of your room and the remodel that was happening in the lobby and common areas. We appreciate your comments and have shared your feedback with hotel management to improve our guest experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average - nothing special

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was average
4 out of 5
by Tonny from Esbjerg

Great location and service

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly service minded staff and great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Hej Tonny Tusind tak fordi du tog dig tid til at skrive din anmeldelse. Det glæder mig meget, at du har nydt opholdet hos os, og håber vi kan byde jer velkommen tilbage en anden gang.
1 out of 5
by JONATHAN from Horsham

DONT!

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Do not stay here! Absolutely everything was under par! Please see trip advisor for more details!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and have passed it on to hotel management to review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reykjavik Iceland

Fine hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: great staff, good food
Cons: need to have earplugs in the rooms.
very nice hotel, great staff, near the center, but very much noise from the street. hard to get a good sleep if you don´t have earplugs :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel does not have air conditioning. This makes it necessary to keep windows open during the summer. Unfortunately, it is located directly across the street from a number of bars that are open nearly all night. It is difficult to sleep with the windows open and the noise of the revelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2015 by Christina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay due to noise from the city. We attempt to take action to make sure our guests are affected as little as possible by making sure the windows are sufficiently soundproofed. In regards to the missing aircondition, we do have some rooms with aircondition. When making a future reservation by us, please make sure to note that you would like a room with aircondition. I hope to be able to welcome you back another time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and great harbour / city views

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Very old and tired rooms in need of a refirb. Great location though. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Great location in the centre. The breakfast is very good and the staff friendly. The hotel does what it says on the tin. Only gripe - the pillows are too small