Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Stuart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time to Do Better

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Um, it gave us a bed for the one night we needed it.
Cons: So, so many things. It's 2016 and you wouldn't know it to be in this hotel.
Location: Pretty close to the best fry place in town. But it's Aalst and everything is close by.
I get the impression that this hotel hasn't had much competition in Aalst for quite some time. So they haven't tried very hard to update and modernize because they haven't had to. Except now that we stayed *at a different, newer hotel in town* and have been able to compare, the differences are staggering. They modernize the lobby and the restaurant but nothing else. The rooms and hallways are still in the 90's. The elevator is rickety. EVERYTHING will cost you additional money. The attitude at check in could be described as indifferent. The air conditioning is useless and yet INCREDIBLY LOUD, and you need to ask them to turn it on because otherwise you get nothing at all. The bathroom has terrible lighting. I'm pretty sure I could feel the floor when I kneeled on to the mattress. The breakfast is included so that might be why they're using stale croissants and old fruit and gross bacon. Full disclosure - I did not pay what they're claiming is the regular rate for the room. The expedia rate is apparently about half of that. And even that is too much. Just… yikes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dong June from Seoul, Korea

Good but far from the city

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel condition was generally good enough, but the location is far from the city. (Had no choice due to other full booked hotels.) If you plan to take a taxi, be careful with drivers' chwating.
5 out of 5
by david from Limerick

Lovely hotel in a great location.

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is in a great location, can walk to all the sites, has a square around the corner with restaurants etc. The room was very clean and modern. Staff were extremely nice and helpfl. We were on first floor and you could get a little noise from the street at night but nothing major. Maybe request a higher floor. Overall, would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Derbyshire, England

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, comfortable and friendly helpful staff
4 out of 5
by Couple

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Scottgintheuk from Kent, UK

Pleasant hotel in convenient location

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel in a convenient location in Aalst. Very short walk to the town square/shops and train station. Hotel bar had a good range of beers with friendly staff. The restaurant (Mon to Thurs only) was pretty good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, U.K.

An hotel, ideal for a week-end/business traveller.

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Peace and quiet
Cons: At the moment, there is a large multi-storey car park being built about 50 yards away from the hotel. This is only temporary!
Location: Ideal, with a basement garage.
This Aalst hotel has been open for only two months. It is ideally situated in the centre of the town, has a quiet ambience and near the Grand Place. It is central for restaurants as the hotel facilities are not available on Saturday or Sundays, except of course for breakfast which is plentiful in quantity as well as choice. It is a very comfortable hotel, ideal for a week-end city jaunt as well as for business travellers. I look forward to my next visit to explore more of Aalst town and the surrounding countryside. The hotel carries but little in the way of tourist information for English speakers, but the tourist office is a short walk away....opens at 9.30am.
5 out of 5
by tom m

one of the better stays in belgium

Posted Nov 6, 2012 on Hotels
while out of the way in aalst it lies between Brussels and Ghent so location is perfect to get to the busy places and and then head back and relax in small town surroundings. plenty of stores and good food so that's not a problem. the hotel staff was a great pleasure as they went out of the way for me at every turn when i arrived early and soaking wet the desk person suggested i go into the restaurant and have a bit of free breakfast and while eating the waiter let me know the room was ready for move in I bad with names but Yves, Gunther and others were friendly and helpful at every turn. if your looking for a ole timey euro hotel this is not it, but if you want clean ,functional, great service look no further.