Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Rundown

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: the beach
Cons: every thing
Location: not much everything closes down in the off season
the room has not been upgreaded in 20 years there where ants every where in the rooms next to ours also do your self a favor and stay somewhere else !!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Centrally Located

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect and the staff is great.
Cons: It is time to renovate the rooms
Location: It is a boaters dream
Treasure Cay Resort is centrally located on Great Abaco Island. It is perfectly situated as a base for boating in the area. We were drawn there because we wanted to swim with the pigs that live on No Name Cay. We rented a boat from J.I.C. Boat Rentals that are located at Treasure Cay’s Marina and from there it was a short trip to No Name Cay. We visited all of the area islands over the next several days. We went as far south as Hope Town and north to Manjack Cay. Treasure Cay Resort was built in the 1980s and like most of the facilities in the Bahamas it has not been updated since but, it is well maintained. The staff could not be more friendlier or accommodating. In the area there are many choices of restaurants, a grocery store, tour companies, fishing guides and one of the world’s best beaches. It would be nice to see a more modernized resort but it is clean and safe. This was our first trip to Bahamas other than from cruise ships in Nassau and it was a little surprising that credit cards are not always accepted and if they are many times there are minimums and surcharges. You can quickly go through cash. The tax system in the Bahamas is based on importing of goods and therefore the prices for everything are higher. We were there the second week of August which is the end of the season. Many of the businesses were in the process of closing down until November so I would not recommend going any later.
1 out of 5
by Carolyn from Maryland, USA

AVOID

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel property is in a death spiral. We were told it is for sale- hoping a new owner will restore it and make it great once again. The common theme for our family vacation at this property was No! No to extra towels, no to beach towels, no- restaurant closed, no- out of that menu item...no, no, no... Rooms and bathrooms are falling apart. Restaurants are severely overpriced and quality is poor. The only saving grace are the beautiful beaches and aqua blue water that is breath taking. Where are the infamous friendly Bahemians with their big smiles and belly laughs??? Not at this property for sure. We rented a boat for the week from the hotel Marina- definitely bring your own charts and equipment!! Boating was the highlight of our week! Very easy to navigate to other islands and beaches and fishing was awesome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Fl

Sailing from Treasure Cay marina.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The resort has a grocery store, bakery, & laundromat right on the property. Thete are plenty of restaurants & a beautiful beach nearby. Our room was very clean & had coffeemaker,microwave, & a small refrigerator so you could do quite a bit in your room. We had stayed there before& would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but needs upgrading

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The location, the beautiful beach, and the friendly personnel.
Cons: The appearance of the the rooms and making sure details are finished properly. A walking trail nicely landscape to the beach would be wonderful.
Location: The hotel is located near clear blue waters. There are a supermarket, laundry, a bakery, a mini mart and a car & golf cart rental place within 100 ft.
We were first given a room that was under construction. The desk personnel didn't know this. We were then given another room which we found satisfactory. At about 4 in the morning I woke up because I could hear a water drip. Upon inspection I discovered water from the wall behind the bed was coming down on the pillow near my head. I moved over and continued to sleep. Early in the morning my husband walked to the reception desk and explained the situation. They asked us to get ready to move to another room. Three minutes later a person was at our door ready to help us move but I was still packing. About 15 minutes later, a supervisor came to the room and informed us that they were upgrading us to a suite. We were escorted to a second floor room which turned up to be nice. The suite was well furnished but finishing details were not of good quality. E.g. The sliding glass door to the balcony didn't lock and was hard to open & close. The property has great potential and working to update one building at a time would produce wonderful results. This hotel has a beautiful beach but you have to walk through a soccer field, cross the highway and through a parking lot to get to it. The restaurants serve good but expensive meals.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive for what you get

Posted Jun 26, 2016
We are at the tipsy seagull bar the first night. Expensive and we threw most of the food away. Spinnakers was very nice and while not inexpensive it was well prepared and the service was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the Bahamas

Posted May 12, 2016
I have stayed on close to all the Bahamian islands, there are many unique places I have stayed up so my expectations are not as high on the islands. Although, the rooms aren't beachside and it's a 5-7 min walk, that was not an issue for me. The marina view rooms are spacious, clean with kitchenettes, the air conditioners are amazing, probably the best I've ever seen in the Bahamas. As far as restaurants, we only ate at coco's beachside bar and there food was great, just be prepared for island style service and don't be in a huge rush. Overall my stay and experience fit the bill, I'll be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels