Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superbe cadre hôtel + village

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
Cet hôtel est situé dans un village médiévale magnifique. La bâtisse ainsi que le village valent le coup d'œil. Nous avons été très bien accueillis et conseillés pour notre séjour. A voir absolument.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, England

Perfect for Rioja

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Wonderful old building tastefully renovated in the heart of the village, with private gated parking.
Location: Ideal for exploring the region with its small towns, villages, and bodegas. Vivanco wine museum nearby is a must.
We returned after 3 years and were delighted that the hotel was as good if not better than when we were last there. The warm welcome, friendly, helpful staff, and excellent food and wine made it a memorable stay for our party of 8. One change since 2012 was the installation of a tapas/wine bar in the foyer of the hotel, which is particularly popular with the locals on Sunday lunchtimes. It's popularity reflects the quality and variety of what is available. Another innovation is that the wines, many of which are local to the village, are also available for purchase from the hotel in addition to José's own vineyard wine. Prices are as good as visiting the individual bodegas and so if you are pressed for time allows you to sample and buy a variety of Riojas. Well done José and Merche and we hope to return again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Fantastic little hotel in a very small town.

Posted Sep 15, 2015
We had a wonderful time at Villa de Abalos. Truly a wonderful staff. The happy hour on Friday night allowed us to experience first-hand the local culture of a small town in La Rioja. The food, wine and service were all top notch. We felt very welcome and would go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Margaret from Maplewood, NJ

A great base for your Rioja visit

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed two nights for our visit in La Rioja. You can't go wrong on this hotel. First, it's in a lovely little town. Second, the hotel is absolutely charming. The decor captures the feeling of old Spain. Yet all rooms and public areas look freshly and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is one of the best we've had in Spain on this trip and the dinner was oh so good. Veal beef cheeks - to die for with a wonderfully rich dark sauce - almost a glaze. Their house wines are also very good - and we bought two to bring home. There's a happening scene on Friday nights about 6 PM where many locals congregate for wine and tapas. Just a note: if you have a room overlooking the street, you may hear joyous celebratory sounds well into the night. A room on the non-street side might offer better sleeping!
5 out of 5
by Ulrike

Rundrum ausgezeichnet

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
In der Hochsaison suchten wir ein Hotel und entschieden uns notgedrungen für dieses obwohl wir sonst eher in günstigeren übernachten. Und wir wurden nicht enttäuscht, waren sogar froh, auf dieses Juwel gestossen zu sein. Vom sehr freundlichen Empfang zum schönen und geräumigen Zimmer, dann zu den Frühstückszeiten bis 12 Uhr (!) und dem wunderbaren Essen am Abend auf der schönen Terrasse. Wir fühlten uns sehr wohl.
3 out of 5
by Susan from Perth, australia

Very small village

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Good for an overnight stopover. Although quite interesting to see a very small village/ hamlet there was only one bar and the hotel to eat and drink in. The owner didn't seem overly interested in us( it maybe an exception but, on the night we stayed we were the only guests in the hotel. The owner did tell us that the previous night a bus load or tourists came in and they were full so, maybe he was tired?) We ordered some tapas for dinner but got the impression it was going to be difficult for his wife( the chef) to cook anything too difficult. The breakfast however was beautiful and Cynthia very helpful. The room was lovely and very quite
4 out of 5
by Caroline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Stennis from Houston

Wonderful stay in Spain's Rioja Wine Region.

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
Location of this hotel is outstanding especially if you are looking for a central place to do wine tours from as you are only 10+ minutes from Haro and only 20+ minutes from Logrono and many many wineries within just minutes. Also the breakfast which is included is more than good its outstanding and you have private gated parking for your rental car on site for free. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Ann from Phoenix Arizona

Central stay in La Rioja

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful, restful. Gracious hospitality. Great central spot for visiting thr Rioja wine country.