Ratings based on 638 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Hotel Carlton Bilbao

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Central Location
Location: Museums, Art Galleries, shopping, bars and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. The Old Town is two stops on the metro.
This Hotel is situated bang in the centre of Bilbao New Town and is served by buses, taxis and undergroung station. It could not be more conveniently situated. It is a shortish walk to The Guggenheim Museum and the Museum of Bellas Artes both of which are unmissable Bilbao attractions. The Old Town is conveniently accessible via the metro 2 stops down the line. The Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. There is a wide variety of fruits, yogurt, serial, breads, pastries and cooked i.e. egg scrambled or fried, bacon sausage etc. fruit juices. Very good standard. The dining room is open for dinner, generally don't have to book and the quality is very high. Overall a very enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay at the Heart of Bilbao

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: the location and style of the hotel
Cons: pluming and friendliness of the staff
Location: The Guggenheim museum
This was a very interesting hotel. Plenty of character and large areas that take you to a forgotten era. The place is at the heart of the city, very close to local public transports and amenities. The hotel is clean and overlooks a central square. On the negatives the building is old and the pluming can be heard everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Hard getting rid of car - it's on a busy roundabou

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Last stp before we got the ferry home. Very comfortable and drinks not expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A plus plus

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Read above
Cons: Need new rugs
Location: Centrally located.
Felt royal as soon as I walked into the lobby. The stained glass windows were beautiful. The room was quite large. There even was AC. The bed and sheets and towels were highest quality Only the rug looks a little worn. Very helpful at the front desk.. Is visiting spain i would not include Bilboa on my list of must visit. The Guggenheim was interested and great restaurants but that was about.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good looking building/location. but badly managed.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Should not be classed as 5star hotel. Staff have bad attitude and hotel lacks facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The hotel has a great location near metro stations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located at the heart of Bilbao

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Excellent service in a wonderful city. Incredible location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely hotel right in centre of town.

Posted May 25, 2017
The staff were helpful and the room was extremely comfortable, quiet and spacious. I would stay here again if I returned to Bilbao.
1 out of 5
by Ravi

Not so much bang for your buck

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Just found the staff very blasé. Rooms are not clean at all! Two exceptions to the staff were SERGIO at the front desk and Isabel who took care of our laundry
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Elegant hotel at a very reasonable price.

Posted May 18, 2017
The Carlton Hotel is located on one of Bilbao's main plazas, 10 minutes from the Guggenheim in one direction, and maybe 15 from the old town in the other. It is in a magnificent building that has been beautifully turned into a hotel. It is a decidedly fancy place to stay, with very comfortable rooms and a beautiful and huge lobby. We paid a lot less than I would expected for all of that.