Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albert, AB

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See review.
Booked two rooms. One was bearable-the king suite. The other one was disgusting. Entrance from outdoors, and door didn't lock. Bathroom door wouldn't close. Flies everywhere. Garbage wasn't emptied. Bathroom didn't look clean. Toilet seal broken, smelled like urine. Hotel was full and couldn't give a different room. No housekeeping staff working to clean room. After multiple complaints, hotel reduced rate. Unfortunately we arrived late, and couldn't find a room anywhere else and had to stay. Totally disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Sorry for all the inconveniences. We apologize and offer you 50% discount for your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Good hotel if you want to save a little bit of money on a road trip. Room was clean. Great in and out location for spending the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
We appreciate your business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Price of room reflects what you can expect. Hotel smelled like bo the sheets were stained and had hair on them crumbs on the floor cleanliness was a big issue for me
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Sorry for all the inconveniences. We apologize and offer you 50% discount for your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibson

comfortable and affordable

Posted Jul 13, 2017
I have stayed here more than once. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly. It is a bit dated and in need of some TLC but good overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. We appreciate your business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Worst Hotel Experience

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This was by most my worst hotel experience, if you're looking for a place to stay in Abbotsford stay away from this one!! I recommend paying the extra buck and staying somewhere else. Here are my issues with the place: 1. The staff wasn't friendly, they claimed that the room we booked wasn't available due to issues with Expedia and offered us a different room that didn't have the same amenities promised. The worst was that they didn't apologize and made it seem like it was our fault for not confirming through their website after checking on Expedia. 2. The water in the room wasn't working so we called the front desk for assistance, after an hour of waiting a person showed up and tried to open/close the faucet and just left without saying anything. After another hour we called the front desk and the same person replied and told us that he can't do anything about it, and that we are too demanding for staying one night and requesting all of this assistance. 3. The towels in the room had stains on them and hairs. 4. There was mold on the tub which I am glad we didn't need to use. By far the worst experience so try and stay away from this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
We would like to apologize for your recent stay. Being guest you have all the rights to change your room if you are not satisfied with your room. could you please provide more details which room number and under which name you were booked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close enough to the show

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Clean room, was okay for the price. Clean bed & mattresses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by a, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. We appreciate your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of Transparency

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Expedia and the hotel forgot to mention that the suite itself had a major leak, so when I got there the windows were open due to a wet, musty, moldy smell. The carpet was still damp and there were lots of flies. Would not recommend either Expedia or Abbotsford Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Sorry for all the inconveniences. We apologize for your recent stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to highway

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom conditions.
Location: Close to highway.
it was an interesting experience staying there... lots of activity late at night & an array of people to watch coming & going..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pet friendly near freeway

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The place is ugly inside. Smells like cigarettes, marijuana and decay. I would say it needs a makeover, but it really needs a fire to gut half the property to ensure a thorough renovation. The staff are there... not much interaction, not very outgoing to their guests. Very loud slamming of fire doors before 7am every morning, and staff isn't very quiet in the hallways either. We were there 3 nights, 2 separate reservations of 2 nights and then added a single night, because I had a pet travelling with us and options are limited over Canada Day long weekend. Upon arrival the front desk clerk acknowledged the pet. Upon check out, the manager told me I withheld disclosure of the pet at check in (he was not present) and took $15 + tax from my damage deposit. When I argued, he told me I was lucky he didn't take off more for all 3 nights that I did not disclose the pet. I guess I am lucky, at least my vehicle was not vandalized and no front desk staff were not robbed at gunpoint during my stay. Both true stories... I don't need to make up lies to make this place seem worse than it is. It was a smidge better than the idea of sleeping in my car with 2 kids and a pet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
We apologize that your recent stay was not good one. If guest is not satisfied, you can ask for change of room. Yeah we acknowledge we need to fix few things. But this place is a very safe neighborhood and we have not seen any vandalism in the last ten years just for the records. Regarding pets if are not disclose there is a penalty for $200.00.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Nice manager BUT many improvements needed

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Cons: Dated, needs some TLC and care and improvements made. Management is caring though.
After the manager was nice my rating went up to a 3 from 1-2. It was quite loud Sunday night in halls etc, lots of banging, and I tried to call down after going out in hall myself to see what was going on and address it and just got voicemail at 9:35 pm was 3rd issue. 1st issue was like a 3 part problem...no change room in pool area and not told and no towels in there and not told and as well had to turn the hot tub on by way of pliers and that was a 1st ever. Plus sauna was down too. The jets were way low and did not even reach back. I booked this motel for a hot tub, a working one.as important and was a let down. No alarm clock either was weird. I will now recommend this motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Sorry for the inconveniences. We appreciate your business,