Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Never Again

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything needs improvement
Location: Location was good.
Got to the hotel, the room was warm, turned on the air conditioner it didn't work well, had to go to Rona and by a fan. Later that evening went to use the hot tube, and had to get pliers to turn on the hot tube. In the morning it took over 15 minutes to het hot water out of the tap, and just about as long to get hot water to the shower. Later Saturday we returned to the room, no new paper coffee cups of coffee, went to the front desk and they did.t want to give us two packets of coffee. At one point there was no one at the front desk for over 15 minutes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Bandaids in between sheets and mattress. Foul smell in hallway. Mini fridge smelled like pot/skunk, spent a good portion of the night killing fly's, office chair was stained with an unknown substance, towel appeared to have a brown/reddish stain (blood?). Hotel staff were nowhere to be found at 730 AM for checkout so just left.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albert, AB

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See review.
Booked two rooms. One was bearable-the king suite. The other one was disgusting. Entrance from outdoors, and door didn't lock. Bathroom door wouldn't close. Flies everywhere. Garbage wasn't emptied. Bathroom didn't look clean. Toilet seal broken, smelled like urine. Hotel was full and couldn't give a different room. No housekeeping staff working to clean room. After multiple complaints, hotel reduced rate. Unfortunately we arrived late, and couldn't find a room anywhere else and had to stay. Totally disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Sorry for all the inconveniences. We apologize and offer you 50% discount for your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Good hotel if you want to save a little bit of money on a road trip. Room was clean. Great in and out location for spending the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
We appreciate your business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Price of room reflects what you can expect. Hotel smelled like bo the sheets were stained and had hair on them crumbs on the floor cleanliness was a big issue for me
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Sorry for all the inconveniences. We apologize and offer you 50% discount for your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibson

comfortable and affordable

Posted Jul 13, 2017
I have stayed here more than once. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly. It is a bit dated and in need of some TLC but good overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. We appreciate your business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Worst Hotel Experience

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This was by most my worst hotel experience, if you're looking for a place to stay in Abbotsford stay away from this one!! I recommend paying the extra buck and staying somewhere else. Here are my issues with the place: 1. The staff wasn't friendly, they claimed that the room we booked wasn't available due to issues with Expedia and offered us a different room that didn't have the same amenities promised. The worst was that they didn't apologize and made it seem like it was our fault for not confirming through their website after checking on Expedia. 2. The water in the room wasn't working so we called the front desk for assistance, after an hour of waiting a person showed up and tried to open/close the faucet and just left without saying anything. After another hour we called the front desk and the same person replied and told us that he can't do anything about it, and that we are too demanding for staying one night and requesting all of this assistance. 3. The towels in the room had stains on them and hairs. 4. There was mold on the tub which I am glad we didn't need to use. By far the worst experience so try and stay away from this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
We would like to apologize for your recent stay. Being guest you have all the rights to change your room if you are not satisfied with your room. could you please provide more details which room number and under which name you were booked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close enough to the show

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Clean room, was okay for the price. Clean bed & mattresses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by a, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. We appreciate your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of Transparency

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Expedia and the hotel forgot to mention that the suite itself had a major leak, so when I got there the windows were open due to a wet, musty, moldy smell. The carpet was still damp and there were lots of flies. Would not recommend either Expedia or Abbotsford Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Sorry for all the inconveniences. We apologize for your recent stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to highway

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom conditions.
Location: Close to highway.
it was an interesting experience staying there... lots of activity late at night & an array of people to watch coming & going..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Ash, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your business.