Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I found the hotel on line.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Its charm, its location, its closeness to Gettysburg. Rooms were very large and comfortable.
Cons: Maintain its present charm.
Location: I can't fully comment, as this is new territory for us.
We drove from Cleveland, Ohio and our plans were to visit the Battle field. I found the hotel on line, and was intrigued by its charm and its location. We had a very nice time there, and would certainly refer to others that want to find a pleasant location, and staff. No problems at all.
5 out of 5
by Joel H

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
This is an old inn that has been refurbished in mostly rural Pennsylvania. The rooms are all different but comfortable and much more interesting than cookie cutter chain hotels. The staff was friendly and welcoming but there is no traditional "front desk." Rather, there is a stand outside of the dining room. The lounge had very good quality live music while we were there over the weekend. We have stayed here before and would do so again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you very much for your review, Joel! We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by shawn

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by Scott

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017
And we love you review, Sir! We hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic type hotel not far from Gettysburg

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Historic decorations, the amazing staff, good foot.
Cons: Really, only the view from the room we stayed in.
Location: Gettysburg is only 20 minutes away.
We had a lovely stay. The staff was very accommodating and the hotel is beautiful. The view from most of the rooms is great, but there is one room where the view is the roof top of the hotel. They have a delicious restaurant in the hotel and also a brewery and bar downstairs. Our stay was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, ny

October vacation t

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The character of the hotel was perfect for me area, very historic. The staff was friendly and helpful. Each room is unique, not a cookie cutter hotel.
Cons: We didn't have a clock in the room. The breakfast bar was good but there should be some signs telling you that there are other items in the drawers.
Location: We stayed there and went to Gettysburg which is about15 miles away.
We checked in late but the hotel was very accommodating. One of the owners helped my friend with her luggage. The young lady at the desk took us up to our rooms and gave us information about the two restaurants. We had dinner in the pub and again the staff went out of their way to serve us. I would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was fine but not outstanding.

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast room was very dark, I could hardly see what was there. No cooked breakfast which I was surprised about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

just what we were looking for

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The rooms are a little dated but very comfortable. My companion and I were looking for lodging where we could also dine and get drinks. Dinner at the down stairs pub was perfect and the beer selection great. I think this may have been the only choice fir lodging and decent dining in the area and it was exactly what we were looking for
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: We stayed because it was close to Gettysburg
I think that the hotel was nice, but could update carpet and bathrooms. The carpet was filthy in the hallways and stairs, the bureau was dusty on top but overall was ok. Probably wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels