Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

just what we were looking for

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The rooms are a little dated but very comfortable. My companion and I were looking for lodging where we could also dine and get drinks. Dinner at the down stairs pub was perfect and the beer selection great. I think this may have been the only choice fir lodging and decent dining in the area and it was exactly what we were looking for
5 out of 5
by Mary from Minnesota

Great Historic Hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed the historic hotel. It sits right on the roundabout so there is easy access. Rooms were satisfactory, a bit dated, but appropriately so. Staff is welcoming and service was terrific. Dinner was excellent! Drinks generous. Little to do in Abbottstown, but the hotel is not far from Gettysburg or other larger communities. Would definitely recommend this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots of Potential, but Lots of Problems

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was clean, but it badly needs some renovation such as carpeting and bathrooms. Although the carpeting was apparently cleaned, it was badly stained in high traffic areas and should be replaced. The carpet in our room was scarred in 2 places where someone seems to have left a hot iron sit on it. The woodwork is old but very nice. The bathtub area was loaded with caulking as though the installation was done by an amateur. The rooms have very high ceilings and lots of space. This hotel has a lot of potential, but it badly needs some attention. The included continental breakfast was acceptable except that there was no juice and no one attending it. When we checked out, there was no one to take the key so we just left it on the desk.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Getaway

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was a little busy and inconvenient due to the fact that you need to see the hostess of the dining room. Our room was great, loved the view of the little town. Nice whirlpool tub. Disappointed that the band canceled in the pub downstairs, but our bartender Lori was so very nice and made up for it with her service and friendly attitude and sprit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Small town inn ever been to!

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We had the suite room 30. Was by far the best room in the hotel! Was huge for a couple, but very cozy as well!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

price increases

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
we discovered this place acouple years ago and have gone a number of times but it seems lately the prices keep going up. When we first went the room was $90 we check this past New Years and it was $189
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Positive: I saw the hostess once at check in. She was very pleasant. Negatives: On Friday night, I had very little sleep. My room shook several times when the exit door leading to and from the basement bar opened/closed. The hotel is on a very busy round about and since the windows are not sound proof, the traffic really was a bit much at times. You could hear conversations, etc in the halls and in the room next door. I could not sleep until about 3 am and I had to be up at 7 am. For those reasons, I will not stay at this place again. I understand this is an historic establishment, and I have stayed at others. However, this place really needs to be updated...at least with new carpets throughout the building. The worn out carpet in my room also had a burnt mark from an iron.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quarryville, PA

Nice stay...

Posted Nov 2, 2015
We had a nice stay, the room was quaint and cozy. Light in the closet was burned out, as was a light in the bathroom, when you turned on the hot water the cold water faucet leaked from the handle, and the floors were dusty. Other than those light minor things, we had a great time.
4 out of 5
by Crystal from monticello

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was on third floor. No elevator.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edison NJ

Nice get away in south central PA

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: restaurant was great
Cons: more than one chair in the room
The room was clean the bed comfortable. The restaurant was very very good. The chef was excellent and they brew their own beer which was also excellent.