Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

European oasis

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Charm
Cons: The continental breakfast wasn't great, but the coffee was fantastic. Nowadays so many hotels put out a huge spread and call it continental.
Location: Easy to get to. Great parking. Did NOT find much to do in the area.
What a pleasant surprise just an hour from Frederick, MD. There was not a whole lot to do in the area if you aren't into Gettysburg battle fields. However, the hotel itself has wonderful food, two separate bar areas, free live entertainment. The rooms were really big and charming. Nice trip. They were also very nice about an early check in. Romantic place for couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great place tp relax

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Like a bed and breakfast
Cons: Update some of the fixes, rug etc.
Location: romantic get away
Enjoyed the location, very good food, comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Cuts, homey feel. Good food but expensive. Not too far from downtown Gettysburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Get off the beaten path!

Posted May 23, 2015
Wow what a great break from the corporate establishments. Met the owners great family run hotel restaurant and bar. If you want a taste of what life on the road was like in the old days this is your place all the ambiance of yester years with the comforts of today. I'll be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Very disappointing.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Convenient parking.
Cons: A major remodel.
Location: Gettysburg was sixteen miles away.
The last time the room had been updated was in the 1970s; it certainly did not qualify as "shabby chic."The bed was well "broken in." There were only two pillows provided: one standard size pillow and a second about half that size. I folded up towels to put under them to raise them up. One bathroom door was a slider which did not slide; the other had a padded interior! The carpet was filthy. The bedding was old. At a disappointing cold breakfast, an employee stopped at the breakfast arrangement with her mop and bucket to wipe off the crumbs. She then proceeded to mop the floor on the other side of the dining room while complaining to a second employee about how filthy the floor was. Not very appetizing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Mediocre

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is rundown. My room had a layer of dust on just about every surface. The windows had heavy, insulated roman shades without any way to raise them, so in the morning it might as well have been the middle of the night. The hotel is situated on a roundabout that has heavy truck traffic. On the plus side, I did have a very good dinner in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gale

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
I have to say I got in late and there was a note waiting for me with everything in order so there was no staff interaction and there is no way to reflect that on the Rickert rating. While the property is older (historic), I enjoyed the room. The continental breakfast and breakfast space were pleasant. I felt that I what I paid was fair for what I received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it! But...

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: We love the old atmosphere. New hotels look new, but we enjoy the old rustic look!
Cons: Please fix the fireplace in room 26
Location: Lots of diners around. We lived that!
We requested the room with the gas fireplace specifically because we were coming from the south in the winter. We arrived and the gas fireplace was not functional. To bad we really were looking forward to sitting by a nice fire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant little getaway

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I have, on occasion visited the Altland house as a getaway for the past 15 years. Our visit this past week included some pleasant upgrades that we had not yet experienced and it was very nice. We will visit again.