Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

just what we were looking for

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The rooms are a little dated but very comfortable. My companion and I were looking for lodging where we could also dine and get drinks. Dinner at the down stairs pub was perfect and the beer selection great. I think this may have been the only choice fir lodging and decent dining in the area and it was exactly what we were looking for
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Positive: I saw the hostess once at check in. She was very pleasant. Negatives: On Friday night, I had very little sleep. My room shook several times when the exit door leading to and from the basement bar opened/closed. The hotel is on a very busy round about and since the windows are not sound proof, the traffic really was a bit much at times. You could hear conversations, etc in the halls and in the room next door. I could not sleep until about 3 am and I had to be up at 7 am. For those reasons, I will not stay at this place again. I understand this is an historic establishment, and I have stayed at others. However, this place really needs to be updated...at least with new carpets throughout the building. The worn out carpet in my room also had a burnt mark from an iron.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quarryville, PA

Nice stay...

Posted Nov 2, 2015
We had a nice stay, the room was quaint and cozy. Light in the closet was burned out, as was a light in the bathroom, when you turned on the hot water the cold water faucet leaked from the handle, and the floors were dusty. Other than those light minor things, we had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edison NJ

Nice get away in south central PA

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: restaurant was great
Cons: more than one chair in the room
The room was clean the bed comfortable. The restaurant was very very good. The chef was excellent and they brew their own beer which was also excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

European oasis

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Charm
Cons: The continental breakfast wasn't great, but the coffee was fantastic. Nowadays so many hotels put out a huge spread and call it continental.
Location: Easy to get to. Great parking. Did NOT find much to do in the area.
What a pleasant surprise just an hour from Frederick, MD. There was not a whole lot to do in the area if you aren't into Gettysburg battle fields. However, the hotel itself has wonderful food, two separate bar areas, free live entertainment. The rooms were really big and charming. Nice trip. They were also very nice about an early check in. Romantic place for couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great place tp relax

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Like a bed and breakfast
Cons: Update some of the fixes, rug etc.
Location: romantic get away
Enjoyed the location, very good food, comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Cuts, homey feel. Good food but expensive. Not too far from downtown Gettysburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Get off the beaten path!

Posted May 23, 2015
Wow what a great break from the corporate establishments. Met the owners great family run hotel restaurant and bar. If you want a taste of what life on the road was like in the old days this is your place all the ambiance of yester years with the comforts of today. I'll be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Very disappointing.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Convenient parking.
Cons: A major remodel.
Location: Gettysburg was sixteen miles away.
The last time the room had been updated was in the 1970s; it certainly did not qualify as "shabby chic."The bed was well "broken in." There were only two pillows provided: one standard size pillow and a second about half that size. I folded up towels to put under them to raise them up. One bathroom door was a slider which did not slide; the other had a padded interior! The carpet was filthy. The bedding was old. At a disappointing cold breakfast, an employee stopped at the breakfast arrangement with her mop and bucket to wipe off the crumbs. She then proceeded to mop the floor on the other side of the dining room while complaining to a second employee about how filthy the floor was. Not very appetizing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
I have to say I got in late and there was a note waiting for me with everything in order so there was no staff interaction and there is no way to reflect that on the Rickert rating. While the property is older (historic), I enjoyed the room. The continental breakfast and breakfast space were pleasant. I felt that I what I paid was fair for what I received.