Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Functional budget hotel for quick stop over.

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: dining area/bars/breakfast. spacious room.
Cons: Place could be re-furbished but hey then it would not be a budget hotel. Bed looked small for the room and looked old fashioned , legs not divan,
Location: Suburb of Aberdeen so do not stay there for locality but close enough to city centre
Traces of previous splendor but now a functional, large budget hotel. Staff are friendly, nice dining area/restaurant/bar. Good breakfast. Prefect for a quick inexpensive stop over . Lots of tradesmen/local workmen living living in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stornoway

Britannia Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Reasonably near the airport
Cons: Rooms could be upgraded and tired areas given a quick lick of paint.
Functional pleasant stay, some parts of the hotel are tired but much has been done in the last year to improve this. Reception was very helpful and welcoming on arrival and departure
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Can words describe?

Posted Mar 19, 2016
I don't think I have ever given such a poor review. Staying here was a last minute arrangement - one night was more than enough. The entrance is dirty and littered with cigarette ends. The receptionist appeared pleasant but it took 3 try for my key card to work. My room was a short trek away. I world highly recommend bit trying this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap and clean

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Stayed for five days. Great price and the hotel and room were fine. Bed was comfortable and water hot. Dinning room full of middle aged men in paint covered clothes eating jam rolly polly. Shame you have to pay for the room wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Perfect for what we needed for weekend pleasant stay and staff too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big disappointment

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Nothing much, there was free internet (no reason in this day and age that there should not be) but that was all.
Cons: Virtually everything, the décor needs significant refurbishment and improvement and some of the staff require some customer interaction training.
Location: Located to the North-East of Aberdeen, ideal for the airport (5 min drive) and possibly the beach front (10 to 15 minutes depending on traffic.
Arrived at the hotel and there were no staff in the hotel reception. After some 15 minutes the receptionist appeared announcing that she had just evicted someone. The interior of the hotel was poor - almost grubby - and had obviously not been subject to any upgrade for a considerable time. The room which I was allocated was in a new extension, but had no windows only a small skylight which was some ten feet above floor level. The majority of the guests appeared to be travelling construction workers and they were wandering through the hotel in their working clothing and as a result there was mud scattered throughout the corridors of the hotel. Most of this would be cleared by evening time but not all. The food was ok, but nothing special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Britannia, Aberdeen on a budget

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Clean room
Cons: signage
Room compact but more than sufficient for my needs. Bed was very large aand room was modern and part of the new annexe. Signage and finding rooms can be a bit propblematic but for the budget minded person the Britannia ticks the boxes
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

near to thainstone

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: not much
Cons: the whole thing
it took 4 attempts to get it through to staff i had booked a downstairs double disabled room!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you don't like walking, don't stay here

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: Cleanliness of the room, which also needs updating significantly in comparison to other hotels and hotel chains. Bathroom needs to be renewed
Location: I was working so it was convenient for work
I stayed at this hotel the week before. I felt very disappointed that breakfast was not included in the cost this time and to my knowledge there was no mention of this fact anywhere in my paperwork. I had booked the same deal which included breakfast as far as I was concerned. Incidentally I paid more this time and it still didn't include breakfast!!!!! I didn't like the long, long walk to my room, it felt like I had walked miles!!!! The rooms need to be updated if the hotel wants to compete with the competition. My room the week before was lovely, clean and tidy, sadly the only window was a skylight which the local seagulls seem to like landing on, but it was better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Confusing room location

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Stayed here for 2 nights in 2 separate rooms and finding the room number was so confusing. I actually saw a family come down to reception on my 2nd night asking if they can be shown to their room so it wasn't just me! They have 3 floors but numbers go up to 800+ and I spent ages finding my room. Another issue was you had to go on one floor then walk around and go up a flight of stairs which is not easy with a heavy suitcase as I actually had several as I'd gone down with my daughter who was going university so was taking 3 suitcases home with me. Some issues with room. Found dirty plasters in room stayed in first night and a dirty tissue in other room. Also there was dust on all the tables but for price I paid for it I thought it was very good value. Room on 2nd night was more modern and light. Loved the inclusion of a teapot in the rooms as well