Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel close to shops, restaurants and bars

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Central location within walking distance of bars, restaurants and shopping. Clean room, quiet, comfy bed and staff were very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated. Cables everywhere

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Bed was very small for a double, room was very dated with marks on the wall. Cables were everywhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

No on-site parking, dirty tub.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything....cleanliness, parking, noise. steep deposit for incidentals. People smoke on front steps instead of designated area.
Don't go by the pics on their website. The tub had mold around it which was covered over with caulk. The room was small and the furniture was old. There was no way to regulate the room temperature, either unless you wanted to open the small window. Creaky, old wooden floors beneath the carpet so, you hear everyone around you. The hallways were the nicest part of the hotel. They also wanted 50 GBP deposit per night for incidentals. That's about $65 US. There was no mini-bar so, that would only secure them for phone calls and meals, I guess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Great location, dirty room and ridiculous noise.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Birthday treat for boyfriend: wanted one relaxing weekend away for the first time since our baby being born. Very disappointed. The carpet wasn't free from crumbs so when walking with bare feet bits got stuck to you. When turning heating on, noticed large clumps of black dust all over heater. No tv as none of channels worked and no wifi. went for a shower and never realised huge crack in bathroom tiles as walking into the bathroom. Stubbed toe off of that. Sharp tile!!!! Went out for dinner and came back around 11pm, from then on until 2am the music was loud enough that you could hear every word in every song. Couldn't get to sleep. Overall. Not relaxing. Not a nice stay. Very disappointed. Room was big and nicely decorated but apart from that..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not pleased

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Wasn't very good, room needed updating, upgrade didn't look like the pictures, bathroom was a state, bath etc
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value hotels.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Cons: Needs updating in some areas, plug sockets needed repairing in our room.
Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Room very spacious and with everything we needed. Hotel could do with a bit of updating however our room and ensuite was spotlessly clean. Great choice of breakfast, with something to suit all tastes. Staff very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Sehr schönes Hotel im Zentrum

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Super weiches Bett und Bettwäsche =)
Location: Sehr zentral, von der Union Street aus gehen alle Busse weg.
Das Hotel liegt einfach super zentral, hat eine tolle Aussicht, das Personal ist extrem zuvorkommend und nett. Das Zimmer ist wunderschön und das Bett ein Traum! Umfangreiches und gutes Frühstück, auch die Zeiten sind okay, nur eine halbe Stunde vor Schluss wird das warme Buffet abgeräumt, das muss man halt wissen. Alles in Allem ein wirklich schönes Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Car Parking only for certain people

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Not the parking
Cons: The double standards
When we arrived we tried to get into the car park and was told we could not park in it. There were spaces there for the both nights we were there but still we were not allowed to use it. The hotel said the spaces were reserved. I tried to do this but was told that it was first come basis. Now on the website it says limited space nothing about reservations but it looks like only certain people gets the choice. We spent an extra £19 on parking. It may have four stars on the door but I do not rate this hotel a four star as the persons on the desk could not understand my point of view on parking and just smiled and said I am sorry again and again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Helpful staff, room very clean and I recommend their restaurant for breakfast and dinner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel, easy access to city centre.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location and staff.
Location: Close to Shetland Island ferries; great shopping; and walking tour of the Old City.
Very friendly staff. Helpful. Good buffet breakfast selection. Room clean and pleasant.