Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

A unique hotel in a lovely setting

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Spacious room , good breakfast, helpful staff
Cons: Nothing, just maintain this standard
Location: Handy for the City centre with all its activities, but far enough out for a quiet night
The title says a lot, this luxurious hotel with comfortable beds spacious rooms and fine dining has it all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Deserves five stars

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Everything, especially the fireside dinner.
Location: Easy walk to bus stop. Four pounds return to center of city.
This 4 star hotel deserves 5 start. Everything was perfect and nothing was a problem for the staff. Just like staying at Downton Abbey but better! HIGHLY RECOMMEND
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Our room was spacious and comfy along with a modern bathroom.
Location: It's surrounded by beautiful trees and close to a main road.
We arrived tired after a long trip. The receptionist noticed this and gave us an upgrade so we could rest better.
4 out of 5
by Sandra

Great hotel, shame about the bar food!

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was great, very comfortable and traditional with beautiful grounds. The only let down was my main course which I took in the bar. It really wasn't up to the standard expected.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little unsure

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
While the Macdonald Norwood Hotel is an attractive property, we had a few difficulties with it. Both nights of our stay they were hosting weddings. They were lovely events for the group I'm sure, however the music was quite loud and continued on quite late. The second night it went on past 1am! Very surprising to us. It was quite stuffy in our room as well and there was no way of opening a window for fresh air. The property doesn't have air conditioning (which I'm sure they don't normally need), but air in the room of some kind would be good. Otherwise, we had a nice time. We only ate once on site in the bar but the food and service was quite good. We had nice service from Nicsion (?) in the bar.
3 out of 5
by Fiona

Nice hotel, shabby room

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, but the room wasn't too great - shabby and run down, mouldy bathroom. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, and breakfast was enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK. Could be a lot better.

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Executive room was a bit tired. Pleasant staff and surroundings. Major let down was length of time kitchen took to prepare meals both in at dinner and breakfast. To be fair to hotel they refunded meal and drinks when I raised this on checkout.
2 out of 5
by Paul

overrated, overpriced and inefficient

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel looks grander than it is. Could do with a little freshening up. Check in is very slow and inefficient. Main problem is their evening dinner service it is so slow. Only one person seems allowed to take the actual order the Maitre D. The others are allowed to clean up and delvier your food. So you wait ages till the Maitre D does lots of tables. Then when it comes to pay you guess it it is only the Maitre D who can do that as well. Dinner took 2 hours for what was a quiet restaurant. Add to that the food was a mix of very tasty but minimalist (if you paid for the dearer items like Lamb Loin) or large and very bad (like the fish and chips, your local chippy does it 100 time better) All in all not worth the money to stay here better going elsewhere
4 out of 5
by Susan

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
I really like this hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. The food is good,with a lot of local ingredients used. The only complaint I really have is that the checking in and out process often takes a really long time, usually because there is only one person on duty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Smart hotel, lovely grounds, good location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very pleasant stat. Lovely room. Warm welcome by staff at reception.