Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location beautiful country side

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Great hotel lovely staff just a bit to efficient in cleaning up after drinks etc but all in all great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Ideal location for a relaxing break

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Staff went about their business professionally but indiscreetly and were always available if required.
Cons: Availability of daily newspapers for guest use.
Location: The city of Aberdeen is approximately 3 miles away and well worth a visit. Numerous castles and distilleries all within a short drive.
As a returning guest I was not disappointed. Staff were warm, friendly and welcoming. Room was well appointed and very comfortable with fridge and large HD television. Excellent leisure facilities with pool, spa, sauna and steam room. Food was of a high standard although a bit over-priced. Bar facilities were also excellent and the adjacent drawing room was an ideal place to enjoy a relaxing drink. Selection of malt whisky available was second to none.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. Lovely spacious room, massive king sized bed, huge TV, modern fixtures and fittings, lovely bathroom (a bath would have been a nice addition but the shower was pretty good). I didn't stay for breakfast so cannot comment on that but I would love to stay again if I need to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from girvan

Beautiful hotel not far from the city

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Beautiful quiet surroundings
Cons: Choice of food on offer and at a reasonable price
Location: Location was good, just a few minutes outside of Aberdeen. Easy access to the city for shopping!
Had a lovely three night stay in this hotel. Situated a couple of miles outside of Aberdeen but close enough to drive in to it in a few minutes. Quiet location, well kept grounds. Rooms were decorated to a high standard but were quite cold and so were the corridors. Food was lovely but very highly priced and with limited variety. Overall a beautiful, well kept hotel, in a lovely location would definately recommend a stay here for couples, not so much for a family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Awesome hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Great hotel well located in its own grounds, staff are super friendly. Rooms are modern design and very comfortable. Great dining experience with a relaxing bar. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Splendid for stay and touring

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We loved the style and comfort for a very reasonable rate. Visited Aberdeen, local castles and coastline. The restaurant and bar meals good in evening. Fine breakfast buffet. Loved swimming and using the spa. Did not want to leave !
5 out of 5
by JULIA

Lovely location & hotel,polite & helpful staff

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel,location and staff are all fantastic. Second visit and hopefully not the last.
4 out of 5
by Jordan

Picturesque and Peaceful Scottish Country House

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Overall very happy with our short stay in January 2017. One slight disappointment was that the promotional material for breakfast invited us to stay for a 'traditional Scottish breakfast' which we decided to do - but the selection was lacking haggis and tattie scones, which I would have listed as fundamentals of the 'Scottish' breakfast. Otherwise our stay was perfect for what we wanted/expected.
4 out of 5
by Barry

Baz

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Could have been better if adults only
4 out of 5
by Grant

Modern rooms behind a heritage entry.

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful heritage entry conceals a more traditional series of modern hotel wings. The estate is magnificent as is the restaurant and bar. The rooms are modern and well equipped but not in character with the entry and marketing image. The endless long boring corridors were a bit of downer after such a beautiful entry. The staff were pleasant and the service was great. We dined at the restaurant and the food and service was excellent.