Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Awful

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Excellent location with a great restaurant and bar. Wouldn't book a room there ever again however. Dirty, smelly, uncomfortable and I'm covered in bites!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a cheap deal, just

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Price
On the corner of busy Guild Street. Old rather cavernous building with a cosy restaurant downstairs. Upstairs are a mix of exotically named suites and ordinary rooms. Lots of stairs. No parking but in the back streets there are 2 hour meters that are free after 8pm. I had a corner room. Even with double glazing the noise from the Street is noticeable and builds from 5.30 onwards. So ask for a back or some room. The heating struggled on a cold but not freezing day and took hours to get rid of the chill. Bathroom had no heating and was pretty basic. Hot water took forever - run the shower to get the tap hot. Bed was fine. Desk had no chair. Overall clean but past due date. Pleasant check-in. I had a deal and it was for one short night so I overall I can complain but I would think twice about going again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sadly I would have to say don't stay here

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I stay in Aberdeen a lot and have tried various cheaper hotels. I would not stay here again although it's condition is better than others. From the very first impression when I arrived, I felt put out. Long lecture from man on arrival about how they are no frills and don't make any money and how he hoped I would stay and eat or drink with them in order to justify my cheap room. Made me feel bad. he said and that 'to be honest all the rooms were different' - no toiletries etc £10 for wifi!! He said that's because the rooms were cheap and they didn't make any money (no other budget hotel ive stayed in has charged.) When I said this he gave me a free code - which didn't work. No lift and many stairs No one explained that there was tea and coffee in the room (hidden away) the heating (froze!) or how the shower worked - took ages to find a switch tucked some distance away from bathroom No hot water when I got back late Towel rail didn't heat Light above the mirror didn't work Several sockets didn't work which I didn't realise until things weren't charging or switching on One socket coming away from the wall No room service after my first night so I didn't have a made bed etc Freezing room and no visible way to address this Very rude night porter my first night Fighting outside my room all night BOTH NIGHTS and at one point the night porter who was constantly trying to eject then, used his key to open my door at 4am as he thought it was their room! Clean room but - not happy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very tired hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing
No central heating in the room, was supplied with a plug in electric heater. No double glazing, the room was very cold and you could hear all the noise from the bar opposite and the main road. Toilet door had no lock, toilet seat was broken, shower door was broken. Did not enjoy my stay at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great price

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Convienient hotel in perfect location, friendly staff and locals in a beautiful area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal for station and shops
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniant stay and friendly service

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The location was very good, next to the water and tge railwaystation. The service was very friendly and I had an enjoyable stay. The only thing to criticise was the temperature of the room (as it was very cold) and the fact that I had to wait 7min to get warmer water in the shower! They did give me an extra heater when I told them about the situation, which really came in handy to warm up the room. Overall it was good for a short term stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for a one night stay

Posted Nov 13, 2016
It's in a great location close to union square shopping and the bus/train station. It's located above a pub which I didn't notice any noise from, it was the bar next door which was very noisey. Very disappointed in the £10 fee for wifi as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location, clean and quiet room, cheap

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
It was great, really. The only thing that I didn't like was that you can only get in through the restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Fine stay apart from the shower was warm at best. Forgot to highlight this at reception.