Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overall a nice hotel, few minor issues

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: Good location, and was easy to find. Close to the city center but far enough away that there was no traffic/city noise. Could hear ocean from hotel.
Overall, this is a nice hotel. The hot tub wasn't working which was disappointing, and the sauna is a dry sauna, we weren't aware of that. Our room was on the first floor, nice room and clean, but it got muggy/warm and there was no AC or fan. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was nice. Liked the trails from the pool/backyard area that led to the dunes/breach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Perfect Storm-Watch Weekend

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: The Grey Gull was centrally located near the local stores, shopes, and several restaurants.
The gas fireplace, the cozy reclining chairs and the big windows looking out to the dunes were just perfect for our read, relax and storm watch weekend. The room and funishings looked newly redone, all was fresh and clean. The king sized bed was expremely comfortable. Between the fireplace and the very quiet wall heater, it was eay to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. The little kitchenette and eat-at granite counter was well suited to our needs when we are in. For eating our, several restaurants were within walking distance and others were just a short drive away. this was one of the best lodging experiences my husband and I have had in quite a while. The small herd of deer that frequented the grassy area by the dunes was an aded attraction.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Close to beach

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Cons: The front door to the lobby.. First impression. We thought we had made a mistake in booking there.
Location: Don't miss the ice cream at Playtime Family Fun. Also Go Karts and bumper cars. Mike's sea food resturant had great razor clams; a local delicacy.
Nice view of beach from top floors. Walking trail to beach. Condo 312 was clean and nicely decorated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lynnwood, WA

Dog friendly hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Dog friendly, nice staff, great location, great prices.
Cons: The maids get started fairly early and their carts rolling by are a little disturbing.
Location: Rentals: mopeds, bicycles, etc. Lots of little stores and shops.
We picked the Grey Gull because it was dog friendly, reasonably priced, and close to the beach. We weren't expecting a fantastic hotel, but this one was very nice! A second story room that was like a condo, complete with kitchen and fireplace. A deck where we had a view of the ocean and could watch the deer walk thru the back yard. The room was really clean and the kitchen well equipped. The staff were very friendly to us and our pets. One negative aspect was the maid service carts that would roll down the outside hall - a little annoying. The walk to the beach through trails in the dunes is probably a couple blocks? Not too bad, and the dogs loved it! We would definitely return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we booked

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Booked a king bed. Got a pair of doubles that were as stiff as a cot. They said it was an upgrade. The location is great. If you don't mind losing a bit of comfort, and having paper thin walls for location, then this may not be too bad of a trade off. We will not be staying again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ID

Nice relaxing visit to the beach

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Only thing I can think of is a window that can be opened.
Location: Beach is a walk away, either about 1/4 mile on a path from the hotel, or a drive of less than a block. Great ice cream and candy store nearby.
Comfy accommodations, beach a short distance away, and a visit from a beautiful doe and fawn. Couldn't have asked for anything more!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Snohomish

Great place to stay with pet.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Location and services. Helpful staff, good wifi, tv. Good place for pet.
Clean, comfortable, good wifi and cell service. Warm pool and close to the beach. Wonderful staff.
4 out of 5
by Amber

Enjoyable

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great place for a family friendly stay. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Ocean Shores!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.C.

Great location to the dunes sand beach.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Hotel had good amenities. Outdoor pool & hot tub. Outdoor fire pit & barbecues.
Cons: The room was very dated and furniture worn. Definitely needs Updating. Gas fireplace was nice but facing was in need of refinishing.
One night stay. Hotel close to Main Street. Good location. Older unit but had small cooking area and direct access to Back area with barbecues and fire pit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mill Creek Wa

Cozy hotel with Ocean view.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Comfortable rooms with the sound of the ocean sneaking in. Kitchen in room was perfect for our stay. Will stay here whenever possible.