Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Cannot Say Enough Good Things

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: I guess if I had to come up with something... it would be that the key isn't always easy to work in the door. SO MINOR.
Location: Gorgeous area, village of Ballater is a short walk away, many scenic attractions a short drive away
I stayed at the Auld Kirk for 3 nights in early August, and I cannot say enough good things about it. It was perfect. The renovation was smartly done and very charming. Breakfast was stupendous, truly -- so good I started looking forward to it each afternoon. The walk to the village is easy -- flat and only a couple of blocks. Parking was easy along the side street, and it was quiet. Lovely view of the woods & mountain. Staff were super welcoming and friendly. Beautiful area. I really could not recommend it more highly. If I return to the area in the future, I will check availability there first.
4 out of 5
by Claes from Sweden

Nice former church

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place five minutes from the small town square.
5 out of 5
by Helen from Australia

Absolutely fabulous

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
The Auld Kirk is just beautiful. It is a restored church which has been done with such flair and style, it is gob smacking. Add to that the most friendly and loveliest owner and staff you could wish for. The breakfast was just heaven with the freshest and healthiest ingredients so you could have the normal buffet and then a cooked breakfast as well ...5 star ...all served in a beautiful intimate little room ...part of the church. I could not reccomend highly enough...we only had one night but wished it was longer. If you are going to stay in Balleter you could not do better than this . It is stunning.
5 out of 5
by Gillian from Edzell

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble for them, would certainly return.
5 out of 5
by Jane from North Wales

Highly recommended

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 days October 2015, the building is lovely, breakfast very extensive range offered and the hospitality was excellent, would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Historic Highland Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: Beautiful old building, looks like a small castle or monument. Clean room, modern bathroom, free coffee, tea, and cookies in the room.
Cons: There were two very small lamps, not suitable for reading.
Location: Yearly Braemar Highland games, Balmoral Castle
Friendly, accommodating staff, ready to help you with anything to make your stay wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Newcastle upon Tyne

1 night in Ballater

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Very easy to find, it's on the main road and is quite distinctive! Stayed only 1 night as we were touring so not in that long following our tea-time arrival, we were out again early evening till about 10pm at the recommended Alexander Hotel for dinner (which was ideal). Room was excellent and breakfast superb, served by a very out-going hostess. It makes such a difference. We never got to discuss the refurbishment of the kirk but it is a fascinating stop-over and I would definitely return should we stay in the area again. This was our first time in Deeside and we are pensioners!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Great welcome. Room was just as described, and breakfast was superb. Happy to recommend to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alford

Nice hotel. Great breakfast

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Lovely breakfast. Freshly cooked. Room clean and bed comfortable. Quiet. Just out of the village (300m). Lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Wonderful stay - will be back!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, room
Cons: Only one minor thing - larger bath towels and maybe a robe in the Superior room.
Location: Great central location close to shops, pubs, etc. We walked around Loch Muick which was wonderful and partied with the locals on Sat. night!
Nice welcome from owner (sorry forgot his name) and showed to a bigger room than we had booked - Superior room with lovely view and nice big bed; large bathroom and great shower (pressure) and big bath. Very friendly staff and lovely breakfast - haddock and poached eggs were delicious. 11am check out a good time but we didn't feel rushed at all. Will be back!