Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Welcoming staff & comfortable room

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: very good location on main square next to main shopping street in Ballater.
Comfortable room if bathroom a little dated in appearance. nice period look bar and paneled lounge. Good Dinner in bar. Good breakfast. Overall a good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location. Loved the old world decor!

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Loved the old world decor in lobby, dining room and lounge! Dinner delicious in lounge bar! Our room overlooked the hills which was very nice. Had to ask for toiletries as there were none in bathroom! The room was very clean but the walls could have used a fresh coat of paint! Not quite what pictures showed on line!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The location was right in the town square so very central to everything. Our room was comfortable and quiet.
Cons: Better organisation at reception as this is your first impression of the hotel and staff. Confusion over booking as three other parties with same name
Location: We were there for the Ballater games so were able to walk to our venue very easily. Beautiful scenery all around for walking, cycling.
We were not able to check in early, but there seemed to be a bit of confusion at reception with three members of staff present. We were able to leave our luggage with a promise that it would be placed in our room when it became available but it was still at reception on our return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

In the centre of Ballater

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: excellent food in the bar, very comfy lounge.
Cons: Speed of service at breakfast.
Location: Balmoral Castle if the Queen isn't in, Aviemore
We stayed for one night , booked online. Larger than it seems, our room was on the second floor at the back- a long way to take the cases, but expected in an old inn. A good size room with excellent staff and facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB

Expensive

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Not good value for would expect a much better room for this price. Needs updated, toilet was 80's public service and you could hear it all going on. The shower pressure was terrible took 5 min to get yourself wet. The room was small but the building is old, the cleanliness was good except for old stains on the sheets. Staff were excellent the restaurant and lounge were well appointed and the breakfast was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: The front of house areas have a nice 'highland character' reflected in furnishings, styling and ambiance.
Cons: The room was very basic. The accommodation area needs refurbishment, it unfortunately has a well used feel and odour.
Location: The location is fine. There is not much to Ballater and this hotel is central.
The hotel was pleasant enough and the staff helpful, however the room was very basic. The price paid via Expedia was much greater than the advertised room rate at the hotel, and on reflection was what I would expect to pay for much better quality accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel thankfully very far from the beach.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The food was nice.....steak was very good.
Cons: Stayed in Room 10...Net curtains on 1st floor windows which were screwed shut (looks a bit 'prisony' & dangerous in a fire) -hotter water in shower.
Location: If you like the Highlands then Ballater is well placed for all of the Cairngorms. I walked Glen Muick (ace!) which was my reason for staying there.
All good. Arrived....checked in.....ate food....drank....went out....came back......slept......ate breakfast....went out.....came back....ate dinner....slept...ate breakfast.....checked out......is this enough addition to my review yet and why is 'all good' not explicit enough?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Big Disappointment

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: The Pub
Cons: Price accordingly or bring the standards up to match the overcharged rate.
Location: Walk to the city center or to the River Bridge, visit the city shops. This was a terrific location.
What a disappointment! There's no correlation between price and luxury here. Although our room was clean, it was no more comfortable than an old school dormitory from the 1950's. There was no interior decoration just painted walls and vinyl floors. Overpriced!! However, the Pub was cozy with great service and personality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy inn in picturesque village

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: The cozy interior, especially the lounge. Also the incredible nature surrounding the village.
Cons: It was a bit cold, so could be heated up more.
Location: Lots of nature walks, hillwalking, skiing and other activities. Went on two walks with absolutely stunning views.
I felt like I was in a Nancy Drew game - the interior had a mysterious air to it, in a good way. It was very cozy and staff was really attentive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cold but clean and friendly

Posted Jan 12, 2015
It was off season but once the room warmed up it was ideal. Breakfast on day one was incredible. Day two breakfast was poor.