Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
23% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious and all facilities functioned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Fish and Chips

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: The Receptionist did her best.
Cons: Everything especially the service and decor.
Location: Not much to do near by that why the Spa and swimming pool would have been good if it wasn't a health hazzard.
Booked in 3.45 pm and told we would not get any food that night because a problem with the gas. I told them that was ok because our friends from Edinburgh had already booked us in for a meal along with another 15 . at 7.30pm. The receptionist then said nobody was being served dinner that night. I said have you told the Thomson ( our family) oh no they had forgotten them. The receptionist tried to book us in with another Hotel but nobody could manage at such a late time. Some people cancelled but 10 of us ordered Fish & Chips from the chippy which was delivered to the Hotel. I ordered a tea 3 times from waitress,receptionist and then the Manager had to wait 3 and half hours for a cup of tea. The Swimming pool is really needing refurbished. The steam room needs a thorough clean Jacuzzi had scum all round it. The staff were outside having a cigarette. The bar was closed even to residents . At breakfast things were in short supply and other were cold or not properly cooked. It used to be a grand place but definitely won't be back. Mr Thomson said it was the last supper x. Others were saying we were at Fawlty Towers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Airdrie

A bit run down

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Upgrade of facilities and decor. Food could be improved however I may have been unlucky on the one occasion I ate dinner here.
Hotel was in need of a facelift. Dinner was cold and sent back. Breakfast was not the best either. Quite disappointing. The spa facilities need upgrading and in general the hotel was past its best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Good for the price

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Staff where helpful and friendly
Cons: Some entertainment on a Saturday night might bring a bit more atmosphere to hotel
Location: Bit out if town did not look like anything to do in area
I needed an overnight stay and waterside inn was good enough. No entertainment so not a lot to do. Restaurant only had a carvery set meal on Saturday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Recent Stay

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The staff were pleasant and helpful
Cons: Quality of food etc
I was very disappointed with our recent stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful but the rooms were very basic. The breakfasts were also disappointing, very limited choice, you always had to ask staff to bring out extra food, plates etc and the most disappointing thing was the limited choice of food and also the fact that it wasn't very warm. I wouldn't choose to stay here again,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leeds

Over priced

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Mould in bathrooms small tv limited channels at best of times breakfast very poor cold and under cooked no wifi in rooms .... 2star at best. 4 rooms 10 days no discount
2 out of 5
by henry from boston

Convenient for our visit to the area

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Fabric, external & internal Entrance drive in poor condition & inadequately signed at night.
Location: Plenty for all types
Poor decor. Beds uncomfortable. WC seat not fixed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Dundee

Decent hotel to suit all

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: Pool and restaurant
Cons: Dated rooms
Hotel is dated, but is clean and people are friendly. Food is very good, Hotel has some good facilities
1 out of 5
by Dave from County Durham, UK

Oh dear

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: I have no favouirite things
Cons: My least favourite things was being robbed of good money to stay here
Location: Location is good
I'm a business traveller and use hotels a lot. It's OK that sometimes hotels have to be updated but a considerable proportion of this hotel's bedroom area was a building site. Guests were expected to walk past all the building work and dusty floor coverings etc. to get to rooms. No sign or mention from staff to apologise for the inconvenience Room remonded me of the 1970s early evening TV programme Crossroads. The condition of the decor looked like it was at least 20 years old. Cracked tiles, dirty grouting, dirty and damaged paintwork on the walls is not that nice but finding hairs on your bathroom wash area from the previous occupants is never nice. Charging guests way more than £100 a night for the privilage is disgraceful. Most hotels are expensive in the Aberdeenshire area but they are at least nice. Most also for that sort of money now-adays offer wi-fi in the rooms. TV kept going on the blink too and the staff I encountered were mostly miseable too for some reason. Without all of the above this is a £60 per night hotel at best. I won't use it again. Hopefully when the builders are finished in the rooms it should look better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor value for money

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: very poor condition
Location: poor
This hotel is shabby and in need of a complete make over, its grubby and breakfast is very poor, it is not good value for money. We wont be back.