Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Clean & comfy but average at best

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Room was clean and comfortable. The whole hotel seems stuck in the 1970's and needs drastic upgrades to the decor. It could be a fantastic hotel but it's not there yet. We never had the breakfast as staff were rude and didn't seem like the wanted to serve us at all so we went to a great cafe nearby for half the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We thought we had breakfast included but was told we did not then they tried to charge us £12.50 for a bowl of cornflakes we refused to pay so in the end we paid £7.50 also breakfast finished at 9 am it's usually 10 so there was nothing left even if we wanted some
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, UK

Budget Hotel with Reasonable Facilities

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Outskirts of Town : Parking available
Cons: Decoration : Carpets : Entrance and Access Road
Location: Golf : Fishing : Sight Seeing : Garages for getting your wheels and tyres repaired
Rooms are tired, but clean and fresh. Reception is pleasant, but corrodor at bedrooms are well below standard. We did not eat in the hotel during this stay, but has been good in the past. The small Gym & Pool facilities are acceptable and a welcome change for a budget hotel. I would stay here again because I know what to expect, but I would not pay too much, as improvements are needed here. Watch out when you arrive ! as there are Foxholes and Tank Traps in the road. Make sure you are carrying a spare wheel !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Scotland

A nice hotel in need of a big bit of TLC

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Near our friends home. Our reason for the travel
Cons: Bathrooms totally renovated
Location: Near the north eastern coastal towns Aberdeen, Peterhead and Fraserburgh
Very much in need of a make over. Tiles in bathroom are quite disgusting, some broken and dirty. No bath mat for stepping out of bath. Towels a bit worn. Gardens large and a bit overgrown.
4 out of 5
by PAUL V

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
The staff we very friendly. I was room only, the evening meal was really nice and not too expensive for a 2 course set menu at £14.50. Breakfast wasn't included and at £12.50 was never an option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

very basic but room was chesp

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We needed a room for 1 night and this hotel was very cheap. We were going to be out al the time so only needed a bed & shower. Room was clean but very dated and basic. It did the job. Bar was closed when we checked in so I had to ask receptionist to get a chef to serve me a few drinks. This was a Saturday so that was surprising but hotel was quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel stuck in the 80's

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel badly needs a refresh of bedrooms & bathrooms, stuck in the 1980's. Car park entrance is littered with pot holes. Corridor carpets are worn out & stuck together with duct tape! Hotel tried to charge us £12 for leisure suite which was run down and changing rooms had a musky / mouldy smell. Poor condition too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jocks weekend

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Great for our weekend visit
4 out of 5
by Tristan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by PAUL V

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
A nice "budget" type hotel, a large and spacious building, nice food and friendly staff.