Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gem of a find

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful old house, very friendly owners, couldn't have asked for a more individual service, great home cooked breakfast
2 out of 5
by Terence D from Leeds

Disappointed stay

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Road leading to b&b in need of maintenance.make shift car park under trees .steep hill to walk to house, with little lighting.in Tudor room , mattress hard and uncomfortable . Boiler igniting throughout the night .en-suite but small basin in room.decor dull ,stain on carpet.breakfast ,burnt tomatoes,sausage uncooked ,fried egg hard told could'nt cook poached .
4 out of 5
by Mark from Edinburgh

Brynhonddu B&B - relaxed and comfortable

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay. Great breakfast and the hosts were really hospitable and welcoming and full of local information. We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie from London

Lovely Guest House

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hosts at the guest house could not have been nicer. Welcomed me so nicely into their home. Very knowledgeable about the local area too, and willing to share when asked. I will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Philip John from Wokingham

4x4 B&B

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Finding the B&B was a nightmare. Very very dark, no street or other lighting, diversions, and the road leading to the entrance to the B&B track being very narrow, wet mud in passing places and not recommended. After speaking to the owner a couple of times we finally found the track to the B&B. Past a private house and then a track that would not out of place on a farm. Centre of track was grown over with grass and with a low fronted and expensive sports car totally unsuitable. High trees either side and branches in the track. Parking was under a tree that was swaying in the wind and not safe to leave without being damaged. With no lighting to the B&B about 50 meters away (walkway was in total darkness) decided it was not safe to leave the car, and we headed out in a very muddy and expensive car; thank goodness with no damage after later inspection. Booked another hotel close by which was fabulous. Assume the B&B inside is as good as the feedback we have seen, but the roads and track leading to the B&B were totally unsuitable, unless you had a 4x4 or car with high clearance when we were there. Not a great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Memorable stay, great value for money.

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
The owner is extremely knowledgeable and went out of his way to offer advice and help informing guests about the area. Good breakfast, wi-fi included. Very small single room. Rural location in impressive country house down a rough track which is OK for city cars but drive slowly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david

Lovely staff but take your own pillows!

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Room clean and staff very friendly and accommodating as I arrived very late, but pillows very uncomfortable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely country setting but not that easy to find

Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels
Very nice hosts with lots of information to pass on regarding their country home. Rooms being furnished in the style of the period in which they were built. It would be a big help to people driving in a strange area to have some good clear signs indicating exactly where they are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel to walk and to see Abergavenny

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: A rather cramped bathroom
Location: Lovely scenery
A very unusual hotel in a lovely location. Friendly and a great breakfast.
1 out of 5
by Donna

Should give access directions on information!

Posted Jun 27, 2012 on Hotels
I didn't stay, after spending hours driving around in circles from map and satellite navigation, I called and they said the satellite navigation never finds them, that you need to call them to get directions.They then went on to say that they were not accepting any visitors (valid reason - family ill health and they had family members staying in the rooms). I ended up sleeping the night in the car - the road was too narrow to turn around anywhere, and the navigation system did not seem to be able to find the way back to main road. Hosts were helpful in offering information on other locations that might still be open to accept my booking if I called - however it was not a nice night for me :-( --- and I paid for it!