Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in picturesque village

Posted May 22, 2017
A delightul hotel but I only visited for a quick overnight stay as we had a family event held locally Will definately make the effort to return the food at breakfast was delicious the staff were really nice and the restaurant was full and buzzing both on sat and sunday Perfect for a long week-end
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Nice cosy inn, reccomended.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Received a free room upgrade, staff very friendly, good wholesome food and good beer. Lots of walking available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy, well appointed hotel in counttyside

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely pub in counttyside right on a pretty creek. Room and bed comfortable and well appointed. Good full breakfast. Dinner was absolutely delicious in restaurant and very reasonably priced. Parking onsite. Don't know how accessible hotel would be without a car. Lovely staff and quick checkin.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Friendly Service & Accomodation

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Really friendly service and accommodation cannot be faulted. Fantastic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

The Black Lion Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: It was clean and the staff were very accommodating. Well situated in a pleasant picturesque village.
Cons: The WiFi which to my knowledge only requires one or two good routers situated at strategic points. Mobile phone reception needs looking at.
Location: Not too far from Abergele. We were there to play golf though I dare say ther are lots more things to like rambling or biking.
I felt as if the hotel was no better than average. When booking the hotel it said that there was WiFi in every room. There was no WIFi upstairs in any room. There was no mobile phone signal which meant we were cut of from the outside world. If we wanted to get in touch with my family we would have go downstairs and ask to use the landline which isn't very private. The breakfast was alright and quite filling. The evening meal was substantial though the Welsh Lamb I had was very fatty other than that it was fine. No way would I say that it was worth what we paid. I would say that businessmen would not be well catered for with the lack of WiFi or mobile phone reception. I would not recommend the hotel at that cost. Plus in writing this experience I couldn't slide the cursor back when I wanted to edit what I had just written. I had to delete the sentence and start again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No problems with this hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay was looked after very well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice get away location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: ?
Location: Lovely and quiet village good road network to coast
only stayed one night, went too quickly. Food lovely, did have a visitor in the night (massive spider) but that's country living.
5 out of 5
by Lorna from Tarleton

Perfection

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay wish it could have been longer!! Room spotless, food exceptional and very friendly staff. Could not fault it, back asap!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

A nice cozy hotel with a lovely view and character

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Stayed there overnight after a canyoning trip nearby. Really enjoyed our stay there. Would definitely recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Peaceful spot

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We only had time for a very short break and this was so lovely and peaceful in the most beautiful location - we'd love to keep it a secret.