Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Make your reservation with caution.

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Cons: Location.
Location: Never felt safe at this location.
Booked two nights and prepaid via Expedia. My wife and I arrived in early afternoon and found there to be (1) no restaurant, (2) no fitness center, and (3) no swimming accommodations, as it was outdoor. Pool, not a problem but the first two were advertised to be available. The hotel is located downtown and our trip included being spectators to college athletic events and although within 6 miles of all the Abilene colleges, the routes to our destination were very confusing. Additonally, casual dining was several miles away. Back to the hotel, if traveling with children, the location of the hotel is not what I would recommend as the downtown section was somewhat distressed.
2 out of 5
by Barb

Disappointed

Posted Oct 6, 2012 on Hotels
I was very disappointed with this hotel. The picture they show is not the actual hotel and there is no restaurant on the premises. What there was,the most pathetic excuse for a continental breakfast I have ever seen.The rooms weren't as clean or updated as they should be. The front desk woman was very pleasant and accomodating when I complained that the room she put me in wreaked of smoke, she was accommodating and put me in another room quickly. Overall, very disappointed and would not recommened or stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Jerry W.

Downtown Abilene-quiet and convenient

Posted Aug 27, 2012 on Hotels
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay there again. Hotel was located close to the event I was attending. Staff gave very useful directions to event location, places to eat, and best ways to get back to major highways.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the price. Excellent service.

Posted Aug 19, 2012
Pros: Service & breakfast
I enjoy my stay. Service and breakfast was great.Quik check in,great rate,nice location & very clean.
3 out of 5
by Tony

Posted Jun 12, 2012 on Hotels
Better than expected being remodeled.
1 out of 5
by Very Unhappy Guest

This place shouldnt be open!!!

Posted May 20, 2012 on Hotels
I thought it was extremely terrible all around. Large tiles missing in the ceiling in the bathroom with pipes exposed. Dirty countertops and shower. Room smelt like BO and the front desk workers had terrible customer service skills and poor communication skills. It was an over all awful experience and had we not had NO other options because of the busy weekend.....we definately would have have just walked out!! I dont know how this hotel is within regulations and is still open for buisness!! Oh, and our luggage stunk extremely bad just sitting in the room for one night because of the disgusting odor in the room!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2012 on Hotels
I had reserved our room six to eight weeks in advance. Stong odor of cigarette smoke, dirty bathroom, towels had insulation on them from the bathroom ceiling. Curtains did not close properly. TV remote did not have batteries. when we finally got a new remote we had to program it ourselves and it still did not change the channels. If you sat on the edge of the bed the other end would stick up in the air. Front desk clerk was rude. After much back and forth between us and the clerk we were taken to see another room and it did not have odor. still dirty no trash can, towels were badly stained. Hotel was in a great location but very disapointed with the service and the rooms
1 out of 5
by Lori

Posted May 5, 2012 on Hotels
Was not impressed with the cleanliness of the room, carpet was dirty , bed linens were stained, TV did not work. Will not be staying there on my return trips and would not recommend.
1 out of 5
by Sheila

Never again

Posted Apr 30, 2012 on Hotels
My daughter and I saw this place and immediately didnt want to stay but had no other choice. The receptionist was a foreigner whom I couldn't understand. The pool was closed even though it did not say that online. Their were dead bugs under the bathroom sink so I know it wasn't swept. I felt very dirty after leaving and will never stay there again EVER.
2 out of 5
by Miles

Okay, But Proceed With Caution...

Posted Apr 28, 2012 on Hotels
Like downtown Abilene, The Rodeway Inn has seen better days; it's a rough around the edges. First of all, I want readers to know my room was o.k., bearing in mind I'm a business traveler who spends little time in the room, aside from sleeping, showering and off to my work at a very early hour in the morning. It was kept clean while I was there. Next, to my 1st concern: my room was on the 1st floor, near Pine Street. The mercury vapor security lights were not on when I left in the morning, so I stepped out of my room into darkness. Luckily, my car was right outside the door so I could hit the remote to turn on the car's lights. The hot water never got beyond lukewarm. The framing for the ceiling tiles in the bathroom were moldy and rusty. The fitness center - featured in the on-line pictures taken a very long time ago - is inoperative. Finally - the 'free breakfast' - is a real letdown unless you''re into cold cereal and weak coffee served in sytrofoam. If any of what I observed is important to you, stay elsewhere. If you're looking for just a place to crash, the Rodeway will do. All I know is that I wouldn't want my wife or daughter walking out into a black parking lot at 5:30 AM like I did. I hope the management @ The Rodeway correct these shortcomings in order to attract and retain returning guests. Until they do, I won't be one of that number.