Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Last minute phew

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Booked this last minute we were very pleased with our room. Breakfast excellent. Staff very attentive. Quiet location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Excellent Value for money.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The best thing about this hotel was the food.
Location: The location was good because it was only 10 minutes by car away from the town centre but far enough away that it felt rural.
We traveled to Oxford from Glasgow for a family funeral. The Dog House was very welcoming, clean and the staff were very efficient. The rooms were generous in size which was great for us as we had 3 adults sharing the one room. The options for breakfast were varied and would suit everyone.
4 out of 5
by Jon

Short Stay for Golf

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Ideal for nearby Frilford Heath Golf Club. Would be handy too for Oxford.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Don't let the name deceive you as this pleasant country hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel seemed nice. Nice surroundings.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Had to wait ages at the reception for the uninterested man to come and check us in. Room was nice. But water for the bath and shower took an age to heat up. Bed wasn't uncomfortable but for a double it was quite small. And a bit firm and bouncy. The worst thing though was the thin windows and terrible traffic noise from the road outside.
4 out of 5
by peter

Old style English Inn with room for improvement.

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
The Dog House is an old Greene King pub, recently redecorated and comfortable, but facilities seemed a bit tired: the toilet didn't flush well, the shower worked well, but was an old Mira unit, the door lock was stiff and difficult to open. The open fireplace with wood fire was brilliant on a cold day. The restaurant was good, with an inventive menu, and breakfast had great variety, but if I wanted decent coffee, I would have had to pay, even though I don't have the cooked breakfast; so no trade-off there! Nearly all the staff were migrant workers, and very efficient and polite. My complaint to Reception was that the cleaner was mopping the floors during our breakfast, and the chemical had a strong disinfectant odour. No apology was forthcoming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and basic

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Wall paper falling off, food horrendous but friendly beautiful location with green crisp grounds
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family weekend

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The dining room at breakfast time was dirty from the night before. They offered a feeble excuse. The breakfast choice was not great as I believed it would be for rate. They struggled to cook scrambled eggs to a reasonable request. Front rooms were near to road and noisy Overall is was good but not great.