Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina Mts

Very charming old hotel filled with antiques

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Stayed there to be close to theater and enjoy the ambience of the old hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Galax, VA

Great hotel in the middle of Abingdon.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: A beautiful old building that has been well maintained and the grounds are beautiful.
Cons: They provide a Keurig for room coffee that didn't look like it had been cleaned recently.
Location: 2 theaters next door and several excellent restaurants within walking distance.
The hotel was beautiful inside and out and we were given a free upgrade. Everyone on staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. I thought at first it was a little pricey but it was worth it. It is within walking distance of great restaurants and other activities in downtown Abingdon, Va. Wish we had stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by GM , Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your kind words
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arundel, ME

Historical elegance

Posted Jul 5, 2017
From the moment you arrive, the Martha Washington Hotel takes you back to a time of elegance, service, and charm. There are numerous wonderful places to sit and relax, the restaurant was outstanding. Abingdon is just out the door and fun to walk. We loved every minute of it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Very bad bed,

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The grounds were indeed the best part of this hotel.
Cons: Yes, new beds for sure.
Location: Lots to do and see in Southwest Virginia.
The bed in our room was terrible, my wife and I had a horrible night. I relayed my disappointment to the staff when checking out, expecting to much I guess. I don't think we will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Martha Washington is First Lady of Hotels!!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Location and personel.
Cons: It is pricey.
Location: You can walk to both Barter Theater and Barter Stage One. The Creeper Trail nearby; Appalachain Trail a short drive and the restaurants are fab.
The check in is flawless. The staff is helpful and gracious without being obnoxious. The Sisters Restaurant is superior and the free breakfast for residents is a REAL breakfast not a toaster. I have never been disappointed.
5 out of 5
by Laura

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with a fantastic location. Filled with beautiful furniture and historic significance that can't easily be found elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Coeburn, VA.

Historic hotel with lots of charm.

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: We love the antiques and historic charm. The dining room is great with reasonable selections and prices.
Cons: We noticed that the balcony off the fourth floor could use some cleaning. One of the outside ponds with waterfalls was clogged with sticks.
Location: Abingdon is a neat town with shops and eateries nearby. If you like comfort and pampering, stay here!
We visit The Martha every year or so for special occasions. The place is simply awesome. The spa is out of this world, and the spa staff are so accommodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel in a quaint location.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The hotel is full of history and you feel at home here. The staff was very energetic and willing to have a conversation with you. The rooms a elegant and cozy. We will stay here again and recommend it for everyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Not worth the $$$

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It is historic and close to the theatre.
Cons: Front desk staff, hospitality was horrible.
Location: Barter theatre is next door. Close to a few restaurants.
The hotel is beautiful, historic and close to the Barter theatre but not worth the cost. The desk staff was not friendly or helpful, not just one but all of them had horrible hospitality skills. The valets were very friendly and very helpful, if all of the staff had their attitudes this hotel would be great. And don't be fooled by the amenities list, the in room water means one bottle, any more than that will be billed to your credit card. And the complimentary breakfast may have existed but was never mentioned. I expected a lot more for the price. You get more amenities from the Hilton at a much better price with much more friendly staff. The history is the best thing about this hotel.