Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Edinburgh


Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
we loved it and will go back again. hotel staff were fantastic. the place does need some love and attention or maybe a lottery funding or regeneration funding just to spruce it up as it is certainly showing its years but could not fault the cleanliness or the service we received. food was also faultless.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Needs investment

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel and room are clearly tired and dated.
Stayed just for a night. It really needs investment and refurbishment, not reaching minimum standards for a XXI century hotel, so close to amazing landscapes and royal properties. Staff was pleasant and food was decent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good old charm hotel.

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Historical building. Great value ... breakfast was good as well. Live fire...
3 out of 5
by Fraser

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Working in the room was hard work due to the low energy lighting there was no wifi in room. Wont stay again
4 out of 5
by James from Edinburgh

Friendly staff and a great breakfast!

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Although the hotel is a bit dated overall it certainly doesn't deserve some of the bad reviews I had read posted in the past. Apart from a bit of misunderstanding when checking in about whether breakfast was included in the rate we had paid (it was), the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was warm and clean, shower was electric & a decent strength, and the breakfast was very good traditional fare served in a lovely dining room - choices included porridge with double cream, full cooked breakfast, waffles. Set you up for the day! For the rate we paid, very good value for a weekend away. I'd definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great receptionist but a poor hotel overall.

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
First, the Hungarian receptionist on duty when I arrived was a breath of fresh air! Thanks! Hope the staff are valued as they compensate for what is overall a hotel which is a little past its best before date! My room was small, two of the lights were not working and the bathroom was in real need of some TLC. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food. This was just a quick stop-over for me but I have to say, I won't be staying here again unless I read that it has been extensively renovated.
5 out of 5
by Clare from Edinburgh

A little hidden gem.

Posted Nov 25, 2015 on Hotels
We were only there for one night, but would have been happy to stay longer. The hotel is a comfortable old fashioned country Inn. The staff were friendly and very accommodating and not just to us. Everyone that they spoke to was given the same level of courtesy. The decor was maybe not to everyones standard but having read previous reviews, both my husband and I feel that they were not being fair.