Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Angus, Scotland

Poor Hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Booked a family room in this hotel for my wife and childern whilst I was taking part in a local event. The room was dirty with soot from a boiler problem they had. This was supposed to be cleaned but was not. Both TVs in the room did not work correctly. The breakfast service was also poor. I would not recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire, England

Traditional Old School Hotel, History with Pleasur

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Very impressed with the place, it is an old building and the hotel is under new management. The new owners are gradually getting things improved, but as for the stay, it was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay there again and take my friends, a really nice experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stockholm

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Närheten till Balmoral Castle (30km)
Cons: Vara mera professionella
Ny ägare och renovering pågår vilket är positivt, men tyvärr så var personalen inte lika välkommande. En servitör som suckar när vi ändrar barnens drick till måltiden, samma servitör hör vi fråga en kund , varför då? När han avstår att beställa en förrätt. Min frus vin var dålig och servitören glömde bort att ersätta den och skyllde på att han har mycket att göra. Inte så professionellt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lanarshire

Hotel in central location in town of Aboyne..

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Central position for exploring Deeside and beyond
Cons: Updating rooms and bathrooms
Hotel has recently been taken over. Hotel in general in need of some refurbishment but has potential to be a good hotel if this is carried out. There are signs that this is ongoing. Good breakfast provided cannot comment on other meals as we did not require any during our stay. Staff friendly and helpful and rooms clean and serviced daily.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N Yorkshire

Very run down hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Location, free Wi-Fi in room and good food.
Cons: Just about every thing. Although all the contact that I had with staff was good.
Location: The location for me was good but was on business.
The best way to describe the Huntley Arms is as a Commercial Hotel not one which I would want to use on a pleasure visit. On arrival at reception there was a problem with my booking which was quickly resolved to my full satisfaction and I was told is a common problem with Expedia bookings! All the staff were local and very helpful particularly the waitress at breakfast. The room was clean as far as was possible due to the very shabby and run down décor and fittings. There was no bath as described in the booking only a shower which was electric and hardly produced any hot water at all unless turned down to a trickle. Also the water in the sink took a very long time to run hot. The bed was long overdue for changing which gave me a very poor night’s sleep also the walls are very thin and any talking or noise transmits straight through. The whole hotel is very run down which is an awful shame as it’s a lovely building which could be absolutely beautiful. Definitely not value for money, trading on the fact that there is not much choice in the area at reasonable cost.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Needs investment

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel and room are clearly tired and dated.
Stayed just for a night. It really needs investment and refurbishment, not reaching minimum standards for a XXI century hotel, so close to amazing landscapes and royal properties. Staff was pleasant and food was decent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visit Aboyne

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: It's character.
Great time. Hotel pub was fun. Local restaurant (Royal Kashmsir Tandoori) was excellent. Owner was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Cheap hotel but not comfortable

Posted Sep 7, 2015
The hotel is run down, I think every floor board in our room creaked as did in fact all the ones in the corridor outside which we heard like it was in our room. People just opening and closing doors caused our own door to rattle enough to wake us up. The bed was awful and needs a new mattress yesterday. Room itself was tired but reasonably clean. Staff at reception seemed defensive and probably more used to complaints than pleasantries. Some of the waiting staff were really helpful and some not. a shame as the room setup was good and is a hotel with real potential.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Notunterkunft für eine Nacht - mehr nicht!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Äußerlich auf dem ersten Blick ein schönes Haus, bei näherer Betrachtung außen und erst recht von innen ein seit mehreren Jahrzehnten abgewohntes Hotel. Im Bad war der Schimmel über der Wanne, die Badleuchte war ohne Abdeckung mit freier Elektrik. Die Fenster, Heizkörper und Jalousie waren total verdreckt. Die Betten waren zum Glück sauber und die Matratze ebenfalls nicht durchgelegen. Immerhin gab es kostenlose Parkplätze und die Lage im Ort war auch mehr als in Ordung. Für schottische Verhältnisse kann man wohl für den Preis nicht mehr erwarten...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Rooms are a bit dated however it was clean enough and comfy for a night. Staff friendly and the open fire in reception was lovely