Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: It was an old hotel. In its day, it was probably great. We ate in the hotel dining room. During dinner, the chef would come out and ask us if every
Cons: Generally, the hotel could be improved in most areas.
The toilet would not flush. Had to go down the hall to use a toilet. It was reported to the staff, no repair provided during our two-night stay. The hotel floors were creaky, suggesting rot. Carpeting in upper floors was old and needed replacement. The room itself, though small, was clean and very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingsbridge, Devon

Town Pub with rooms

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Location: Central for Arboyne, opposite park. Lovely walks nearby.
Central for Arboyne, opposite park. Good parking and walks nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The hotel seemed somewhat rundown. It had lots of potential but needs updating. It appeared to be short staffed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Craig

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Damian

Fawlty Towers

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a work in progress but some simple things spoiled the stay. bear in mind I stay away for work so expectations are not too high. Room LCD tv mounted on wall cannot watch unless standing Toilet poor stick on floor tiles, Shower control broken no toilet paper Breakfast on my confirmation breakfast included (going to work) manager insisted not included had to show email confirmation he reluctantly let me have breakfast. Basil Fawlty springs to mind Hotel is well situated and is in good condition But customer care needs a lot of work.
4 out of 5
by Mr F G Cochran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by REVD D P

COURTEOUS MANAGER LOOKING TO ASSIST!

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very warm welcome from the courteous Manager who had tried to contact us about a Bikers Convention in the hotel with disco and there would be noise. His concern was most gratifying and we endured the loud disco! The second night was much quieter and certainly we appreciated the concern and welcome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Old hotel just needs some tlc

Posted May 22, 2017 on Ebookers
Got booked in early, single room was clean and very comfortable bed, TV failed to work, sound only, electric shower so hot water all the time, radiator had no way of turning on or off as the taps were missing, I was there for a motorcycle rally, so small problems didn't bother me. The staff and the food made up for everything.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely in need of a major rehaul!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The bar staff.
Cons: Where do I start?! A complete overhaul, cosmetically and figuratively.
Location: Aboyne - Royal Deeside. PLenty to whet the tastebuds for all sorts, families, couples, wedding guests et al.
Booked this hotel for its close proximity to a wedding venue. Upon arrival we could not get into our family room as the key would not turn the lock.Neither could the male receptionist turn it when he was alerted to the problem. So we were offered another room, which unfortunately was open plan. (I had specified separate rooms which I knew they had and that I booked for) The room was sparse, the decor extremely dated and it had cracks in the ceiling. The bathroom had a shower with a shower curtain (Really!!!) and there were no easily accessible mirrors for us to get ready for the wedding. The only, and I mean only! saving grace was the barmaid in the bar, and the chef absolute gems of a locals. Extremely kind and would look after your every whim.