Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stockholm

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Närheten till Balmoral Castle (30km)
Cons: Vara mera professionella
Ny ägare och renovering pågår vilket är positivt, men tyvärr så var personalen inte lika välkommande. En servitör som suckar när vi ändrar barnens drick till måltiden, samma servitör hör vi fråga en kund , varför då? När han avstår att beställa en förrätt. Min frus vin var dålig och servitören glömde bort att ersätta den och skyllde på att han har mycket att göra. Inte så professionellt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lanarshire

Hotel in central location in town of Aboyne..

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Central position for exploring Deeside and beyond
Cons: Updating rooms and bathrooms
Hotel has recently been taken over. Hotel in general in need of some refurbishment but has potential to be a good hotel if this is carried out. There are signs that this is ongoing. Good breakfast provided cannot comment on other meals as we did not require any during our stay. Staff friendly and helpful and rooms clean and serviced daily.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N Yorkshire

Very run down hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Location, free Wi-Fi in room and good food.
Cons: Just about every thing. Although all the contact that I had with staff was good.
Location: The location for me was good but was on business.
The best way to describe the Huntley Arms is as a Commercial Hotel not one which I would want to use on a pleasure visit. On arrival at reception there was a problem with my booking which was quickly resolved to my full satisfaction and I was told is a common problem with Expedia bookings! All the staff were local and very helpful particularly the waitress at breakfast. The room was clean as far as was possible due to the very shabby and run down décor and fittings. There was no bath as described in the booking only a shower which was electric and hardly produced any hot water at all unless turned down to a trickle. Also the water in the sink took a very long time to run hot. The bed was long overdue for changing which gave me a very poor night’s sleep also the walls are very thin and any talking or noise transmits straight through. The whole hotel is very run down which is an awful shame as it’s a lovely building which could be absolutely beautiful. Definitely not value for money, trading on the fact that there is not much choice in the area at reasonable cost.
2 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Edinburgh

Bargain....

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
we loved it and will go back again. hotel staff were fantastic. the place does need some love and attention or maybe a lottery funding or regeneration funding just to spruce it up as it is certainly showing its years but could not fault the cleanliness or the service we received. food was also faultless.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Needs investment

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel and room are clearly tired and dated.
Stayed just for a night. It really needs investment and refurbishment, not reaching minimum standards for a XXI century hotel, so close to amazing landscapes and royal properties. Staff was pleasant and food was decent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good old charm hotel.

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Historical building. Great value ... breakfast was good as well. Live fire...
3 out of 5
by Fraser

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Working in the room was hard work due to the low energy lighting there was no wifi in room. Wont stay again