Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely in need of a major rehaul!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The bar staff.
Cons: Where do I start?! A complete overhaul, cosmetically and figuratively.
Location: Aboyne - Royal Deeside. PLenty to whet the tastebuds for all sorts, families, couples, wedding guests et al.
Booked this hotel for its close proximity to a wedding venue. Upon arrival we could not get into our family room as the key would not turn the lock.Neither could the male receptionist turn it when he was alerted to the problem. So we were offered another room, which unfortunately was open plan. (I had specified separate rooms which I knew they had and that I booked for) The room was sparse, the decor extremely dated and it had cracks in the ceiling. The bathroom had a shower with a shower curtain (Really!!!) and there were no easily accessible mirrors for us to get ready for the wedding. The only, and I mean only! saving grace was the barmaid in the bar, and the chef absolute gems of a locals. Extremely kind and would look after your every whim.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Quirky old hotel in lovely surroundings

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: It's in a beautiful situation, and the breakfast was first class - really good.
Cons: The Huntly Arms is a very old building and is huge and creaky! Some parts really need upgrading, but this is a huge job and will take time.
Location: Aboyne is a lovely quiet town in beautiful countryside. We went for a lovely walk in the nearby GlenTanar.
We were only in Aboyne for one night after a visit to Aberdeen. The manager was charming and helpful, and admitted that as the hotel was extremely busy, he did not have one of his best rooms available. He kindly showed us 2 to choose from, and the room we took was absolutely fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Huntley arms experience

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: open over new year
Cons: Needs money spending on it and training for staff. Improved management and leadership
Rooms were far too hot. Old metal windows covered in mildew. There was a smell in the room ? stale tobacco ?damp. Staff were friendly but appeared to lack direction. We asked for new bulb in bedside lamp but it was never done. Overall lack of management and leadership
1 out of 5
by Bruce

Do not stay here!!

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Just an awful place to stay. Rooms outdated and dirty. Staff rude and seem to lack experience. Avoid at all costs!!
5 out of 5
by Graeme

Nice room and fantastic staff

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here in a family room for a wedding. Check-in was meant to be at 3pm but we phoned ahead and told them we were at a wedding and they prepared the room early for us. The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. There was a shortage of high chairs at the nearby wedding but the hotel allowed us to take a high chair across from their restaurant. For breakfast the next morning the staff also arranged for the breakfast times to be extended as there were other guests from the wedding there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Still awaiting full refund for room

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: very little- would not recommend to any one. Currently still waiting for full refund.
Cons: Broken furniture, dirty bathroom, no heating or hot water
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Poor

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Ebookers
Location: Aboyne is in the Braemar area,which is a busy tourist area. However, I really did not think we had hotels like this in Scotland anymore!
Phoned through the week to ask for an early check in as we were attending a wedding in the area. Also asked if the refurbishment was finished as we had seen some terrible reviews due to decoration etc. we were assured it should be finished. On arrival the receptionist charged us although it clearly said on our confirmation that payment had been taken. We phoned e.bookers who quickly sorted it out and we got our money refunded. Overall the hotel was obviously still under refurbishment. There was lots of obviously new pieces of furniture and furnishings, but the lobbies and stairs were badly needing to be upgraded. There new beds, but a tear in the duvet cover. Anomalies like this were to be seen throughout. There was no heating in the room, and no hot water. Essentials for our wedding attendance. On complaining we were told the pump was to be replaced through the day, and would be fine on our return. Hot water was there when we returned, but no heating. Others that we knew staying did have heating , but no control over it and it was too hot! People actually checked out in the evening as they had a baby with them and it was too cold. On a positive- the breakfast was quite good, and the waitress was friendly. Really cannot recommend this hotel as it was basically a shambles.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Angus, Scotland

Poor Hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Booked a family room in this hotel for my wife and childern whilst I was taking part in a local event. The room was dirty with soot from a boiler problem they had. This was supposed to be cleaned but was not. Both TVs in the room did not work correctly. The breakfast service was also poor. I would not recommend this hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels