Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
A well run family establishment that really does cater for either the single guest on business or those on that breakaway trip. The views from the room are spectacular overlooking the loch. The food was very good and delivered in a timely manner in the restaurant. Just the right quantity. Rooms well laid out and a good night’s sleep obtained after busy working days. Definitely will be back and thank you for a pleasurable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Characterful country hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Friendly staff, good food, and a very tranquil location. Rooms are modern and have interesting features - mine had a steam shower.
5 out of 5
by Michael from St. Gallen

Schottland Rundreise

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Sehr freundliches hilfsbereites Personal. Ausgezeichnete Küche! Schöne Umgebung.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing countryside hotel and lodge

Posted Jul 7, 2015
This countryside hotel is an absolute beauty. Next to a gorgeous lake and with a golf course, we enjoyed our breakfast in the bright dining area watching a deer grazing! The rooms are spacious, clean, and well equipped. The owner and the staff are really friendly and helpful, and are absolutely dependable on advice about the local area. We had a fantastic stay here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
very enjoyable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
Not a 4 star hotel, very beautiful location but disappointed with hotel. More of glorified b&b where you check in at the hotel bar, lounge out dated and uninspiring, TV in room small, ironing board was miniature and room was freezing I was sold on the spa treatment and gym, when I arrived- little past 8.30 everything was closed and food had stopped being served. 3 star at best Great views and stunning location, however poor Vodafone, O2 and 3 coverage, no wifi present on my stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brechin

One night after hillwalking

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Nice room, en suite spa room was good, Polish waitress not so good at English but tried her best. Had to put both steaks back as were not cooked as requested. No condom machine in toilet which meant a late night trip to local pub. Nice place though all said and done.
4 out of 5
by Gina from Boise, ID USA

Fantastic Quiet Lodge in Aboyne

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
The hosts went out of their way to help us plan our days in the royal Deeside region. We loved the food and quiet loch location. Room was tiny, but we weren't in there except to sleep. Overall we would recommend this as a good central location to tour the highlands.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Letham

A nice hotel in a beautiful surrounding.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant and helpful staff. The sauna is a superb facility,well managed, and a very high standard of hygiene observed.
Cons: A cracked glass in the patio door window requires to be replaced.
Location: A very quiet location but, close to Aboyne town if a choice of resteraunts and bars is required.
Arrived with my wife mid afternoon. Check-in was smooth and without problem. Staff were very courteous and helpful, accompanied us to our room. After getting our luggage from the car and settled into the room we went and had a drink at the bar. Service once again was immediate and staff were very pleasant. At this point we were advised that if we wished to have dinner in the evening we were required to place our order before 17.30 hrs. [there is a notice on the chalk board behind the bar advising guests to do this] Dinner at night was excellent with the food well prepared and excellent table service, with ample time given between courses to enjoy the food properly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The beds were good and breakfast was okay.
Cons: Refund to compensate on the fact there was no gym.
Location: Dunnattor Castle is worth a visit and Aberdeen.
We liked the hotel and the woman was very nice and helpful. We expected to find a gym and that had closed three weeks earlier. We didn't get any compensation or refund for that.