Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taipei City, TAIWAN

Great Filipino staff

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Location was convenient for me
Cons: There should be universal socket
Location: Must visit The Louvre Abu Dhabi
Requested for early check-in via email and was informed that a fee might be entailed. Upon check-in, Ria graciously offered upgrade to club level at very reasonable additional cost due to full occupancy during Grand Prix. Club level manager was most courteous and friendly, service there was also great from all the staff. Room design was spacious but the design sometimes awkward, for example the shower room's drainage was not particularly good, and there were no universal sockets, unlike the Sheraton across the street, which was presumably much older.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Damien, thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay. We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for recognizing Ria and Mariphel for their exceptional service. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kuwait

Long weekend stay

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Very dirty room, the bathroom shower allowed water to leak outside of the both. We had to put towels to walk across. Room has small insects in the bathroom and room. Lots and lots of hair around the room! I asked for a hard pillow and they sent me a extremly high large pillow, I could’t sleep on it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Sarah, Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced. Please rest assured that the issues you have highlighted are taken very seriously. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Great quality hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Julia , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, thank you for your review following your recent stay at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the quality of the hotel and the friendly service you received. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Not very welcoming

Posted Nov 7, 2017
I arrived at the hotel at 3am after travelling for more than 16 hours. I was greeted at the door by two what looked like security guards who told me to put my hand luggage through an airport style machine before I myself had to walk through a scanner. I appreciate the need for security but having been through three different airports that day it was the last thing I needed or expected.( This procedure had to be repeated every time I entered or left the building during my 4 night stay.) On the second night I decided to try the chillo Bar on podium 8, as I thought thst it woukd be nice to sit around the pool in the evening. However despite there being many free tables, I was pointed ( not shown) to a small table far away from the other tables which was in almost complete darkness. So dark in fact that I couldn't see the menu & I declined the offer of the waiter' s phone torch & asked for a lamp I felt like a Pariah... On the next night however I tried the Italian restaurant Parmigiano on the same floor, they couldn't have been friendlier & I was given a lovely table over looking the city, wonderful food too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Julia , Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Madeleine, thank you for your review following your recent stay at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche. We apologize for failing in the first impression due to the additional security scanner that had to be installed in our hotel on a very temporary basis. I am also sorry to hear that your experience at the Girlls @ Chillo was not pleasant. I can guarantee you that your feedback has been shared with the Departments concerned and that the necessary steps have been taken. Thank you for highlighting the welcoming service at our Parmigiana restaurant. We sincerely hope you will visit us again so that we can get the opportunity to showcase our true hospitality to you. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Nice trip and nice hotel. I stayed there for many times, but package had no breakfast. Nice location and convenience for go to the seashore, walking or swimming. My other choice is st. Regis in Abu Dhabi. It depends on the rate. I booked from hotel directly before. Now air ticket and room together cost less.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Julia , Hotel Management
Dear Anonynous, thank you for your short and sweet review. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us yet again and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
The room was dirty, the furniture was dirty. I was very disappointed. The staff were nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Julia , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, thank you for reviewing us following your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been addressed directly with the Executive Housekeeper. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
The room was dirty, and they tried to trick me by giving me a smaller room because i have already paid online before arriving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Julia , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, thank you for reviewing us following your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Please rest assured that strict measures have been put in place to ensure that this will not happen again. We hope you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Beautiful hotel in a great place

Posted Oct 14, 2017
After being away for 7 weeks in Europe, this was our last stop before flying home to Australia. The hotel was just what we needed to have some down time. Lovely pool area, helpful staff and a beautiful room with great views over the corniche. Easy taxi ride to Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque and to high tea at Emirates Palace - both amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Julia , Hotel Management
Dear Jen, thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche. Thank you for commenting on our excellent service and the convenient location close to the city's highlights. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Sarra

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Dear Sarra, thank you for your 5 Star rating following your recent stay at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche. We hope to be able to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from abu dhabi

كانت من أسوأ أيامي الجلوس في هذا الفندق

Posted Aug 23, 2017
اولا السعر مبالغ فيه ، ثانيا الخدمة الفندقية كانت من أسوأ الخدمات على سبيل المثال التكيف في الغرفة كان تعيس جدا ، يعني طوال الليل لن أتمكن من النوم وعندما أردت تغيير الغرفة كانت ردة فعل الموظف مالابي : نحن في الاستقبال نعاني من نفس المشكلة في التكييف لان الجو الخارجي شديد الحرارة بعد هذا الرد من الموظف تيقنت انا هذا الفندق من أسوأ الفنادق الموجودة وشكرا
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Julia , Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ahmed, I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that this is not the Sofitel standard. Following your feedback necessary steps have been taken to ensure such an incident does not occur once again. Thank you for staying with Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche. I sincerely hope you will visit us again. Kind Regards, Julia Schamne