Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Posted Dec 9, 2016
confusion right right from the start with room ,restaruant, meals, hotel rules, communication barrier,
5 out of 5
by mirador Acapulco from Acapulco,Mexico

professional staff an a romantic setting.

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
best ocean view
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good location only

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Breezy off the cliffs............period !
Cons: Room needed up dating. Furniture, bathroom, beds.
Location: Only thing open was a drug store across the street. To far and hot to walk anywhere. Taxis are only there when the divers perform.
Check-in was fast, with a friendly receptionist, and a helpful bellboy. Lobby area was wide open and breezy, with a marvelous breeze off the ocean. Menu in restaurant stunk a big one, common everyday food you can get at any snack joint. Don't go there to eat dinner or lunch. Our room over looked the area where the divers preformed, but not clear enough to see them when they put on their show. Our balcony was lovely, shady, private and very nice. Air conditioning in room worked very well, very basic furniture, only three hangers in closet, a sliver of soap in bathroom and one bottle of shampoo, that was it...no hair dryer or hair conditioner. Sink faucet leaked, no cold water at all. Floor tiles looked all worn and dirty. Hard to firm beds. Went there to check out the hotel to see what all the hoop law was about.....hang out of old film stars in their hay-days, well known hotel in old Acapulco area, dining while seeing the divers. Being by the cliff was nice but that's about all for me. Never again, once was enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

For a specific type of traveller

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Cons: Wouldn't change a thing..even the still broken lock.
I loved my stay here. The hotel, rooms, food and, of course, front row seating to watch the cliff divers. If you have come for beaches, sterile crowded high rise hotels and trinket shopping and to spend time on your WiFi, this is not it. No beaches and a taxi ride to heart of town, no WiFi. Walking around a working neighbourhood, beautiful scenery which takes you around a promontory. The rooms are old, the tile pigments have worn away but it's still lovely with cosy rooms, comfortable beds and I got a big balcony. Door lock was broken so I stood around with increasing members of staff, laughing as everybody had a go. Great history which you can feel...popular with celebrities many years ago. There are English speaking staff, they have to be hunted down though and everyone is consistently friendly. OXO small supermarket almost across the road with many types of beer...buy a bottle of each to taste and enjoy on your balcony. There is a fridge in the room. Drawbacks: food is pricey with no options other than to go into town. If you want a genteel Acapulco, this is it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Helpful staff, good meals

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Fabulous views of a world class site and activity.
Cons: Modernization.
Location: If cliff diving is an attraction, this place can't be beat. For beach lovers there are better options.
This hotel is a bit outdated in terms of modern amenities, ie, wifi only in lobby area, but the room was fine, staff were helpful, getting to see and meet divers was great, price was right. Overall, decent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo Canada

Still-fascinating, clean hotel; amazing history

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Large room, quiet air conditioner, ocean view from balcony, no noise at night, friendly staff. Safe area at night. 24-hour pharmacy/store steps away.
Cons: Some maintenance could be better, TV was old tube-type.
Location: Famous cliff divers perform right beside the hotel; downtown main square (zocalo) is easy 10-minute walk -- downhill, but the return walk is uphill.
I stayed Jan. 13-20, 2016, in Room 203. Though the hotel is no longer new and a few sections have been closed off, it is still overall very comfortable and clean, with a responsive staff. The hotel consists of groups of spacious rooms built into the cliffs at the top of La Quebrada, where the famous Acapulco cliff divers perform. Many rooms have small balconies overlooking the ocoan. It has an amazing history; you can find a wall famous guests from the past have signed -- ex. Clint Eastwood, Mel Ferrer, etc. The first famous guest an Acapulco taxi driver mentioned was former US President Lyndon B. Johnson. The sections still open have been reasonably maintained, and despite their age kept very clean. But demanding guests should remember that being clean is not the same as being brand new. The combination tub/shower (many Acapulco hotels have only a shower) was well worn, but there was always lots of hot water, both there and at the sink, and lots of towels -- large and white and fluffy. The quiet air conditioning worked perfectly, with air aimed against a far wall so there was no draft on the bed. The hotel, with few guests, was exceptionally peaceful and quiet. A few things did not work upon check-in -- the sink's drain had to be unclogged (quickly fixed), and one remote was missing for the old tube-style TV. If things like that would ruin your vacation, this hotel is not for you. But if staying in a clean, quiet place with amazing history is, then I recommend it highly
2 out of 5
by LILIANE from Houston

Spectacular view but with a cost

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
It was really hard to find this place as the GPS can't find it. I was given a room that looked as if it was condemned. #132. Two hours of dealing with that! The tub needs refurbishing, a pile of dead ants or something behind my bathroom door, patio door is stuck, locks on the patio doors are rusted, AC quits after about two minutes. My towel looked dirty. Generator outside was rusted. Maintenance came out 3x. After the 3rd time, he switched my room. The remotes stop working. The 2nd room #202 was better but the window in the bathroom was missing a slide- did not shower. The patio door was stuck shut. The room was an improvement on the first one I was given. Now I like to think the clerk gave me the first room because he wanted me to see the divers. ***Internet is only available in the lobby and the outside area surrounding the lobby. I was able to pick up on the signal from the view deck where you watch the divers. Not signal from either of my rooms though. The view is SPECTACULAR. Amazing view but bear in mind it is a stair case property. I did not see a lift. The property is on the opposite side of the airport. ***I pulled over and asked a taxi driver who was kind enough to lead me. So if you do that, make sure to tip them. The guy didn't have to offer or take time out of missing a fare to take me there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean view...

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels
This is a great place if yo are looking to get away from the rat race that is the beach strip in Acapulco. There is not a pristine beach nearby, but if you are looking for a romantic place with great views of the ocean, and the best sunsets yo will ever see from your balcony, then try this place.
1 out of 5
by Gorda Gordis

The hotel was horrible

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Orbitz
Since the moment we arrived, things were already bad. We were not even registered when we arrived, though we had received the hotel registration confirmation through e-mail. So, we registered there with the receptionist. We were shown to our room and it was dirty, and rustic. Everything in there was old, the refrigerator had rust all around. The wood cabinet doors were hard to open. There was water on the floor, most likely dripping from the sink, because the water was near the sink and even more in the bathroom. Also, the beds were so low that the sheets touched the floor; that can't be sanitary.
2 out of 5
by Keithbratten

Hotel Mirador

Posted Sep 30, 2012 on CheapTickets
The service was poor and the rooms not clean. It corresponded to a two star hotel>