Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

old and mediocre all inclusive hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016
horrible beds, horrible pillows, the food is below average, expensive for what they offer, the pool was in remodeling, but nobody told us until we were there, the hotel is really old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Hotel Park Royal Acapulco, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Please let me thank you in the first place for staying at Park Royal Acapulco. Our mission is to make every stay as pleasant as possible. For that reason, we welcome all of our guests' feedback as it will allow us to enhance the services we offer. Please receive my most sincere apologies for the unfortunate situations experienced during your stay. Hopefully we will have the good fortune of welcoming you again and going beyond your expectations during your upcoming stay. Cordially, José A. Sánchez.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

My father and brother wre very happy

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Room service, comodities
Cons: Excellent
Location: they visit many places from the hotel, they took many activities like the Catamaram tour. They travel to Xtapa
My father and his brother were very happy in thishotel, excellent attention, very good food, room. They will invited everybody to visit ths place
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by g, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share the delightful experience you had at our resort . It is an honor to read how much you enjoyed our facilities as well as the servce provided. our mission is to make every stay as pleasant as possible.I look forward you back in the near future to make sure that you receive the quality service you deserve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Hotel just outdated, it's not a 4 star hotel period. Rooms are noisy very disappointed. For the price. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by g, Hotel Management
Your comments are very important to us as they help us identify our areas of opportunity and continue to reach our goal which is our guest´s satisfaction. I am really sorry we could not prevent this kind of inconveniences from happening during your stay. You can assured that proper measures have been taken alongside the responsible managers of each area. I look forward you back in the near future to make sure that you receive the quality service you deserve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Nice environment - Horrible beds

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Loved the location. Very quiet and relaxing. The pools were nice, the drinks strong and plentiful. However, I spent the entire second and third day with horrible back pain after sleeping on that sheet covered rock they call a bed. Everything else about this place was perfect, but those beds will keep me from returning or recommending the place to others. GET NEW BEDS!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by g, Hotel Management
I am really sorry we could not prevent this kind of inconveniences from happening during your stay. You can rest assure that proper measures have been taken alongside the responsible managers of each area to avoid future unpleasant circumstances. It will be a pleasure to host you during your upcoming vacation.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, everyting was excellent

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Great experience. I like the sttaf, the pool, the clean condition overall. The food, the room,..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by g, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it is an honor to read how much you enjoyed our facilities as well as the service provided. Our mission is to make every stay as pleasant as possible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Location with breathtaking views. Beach was perfect! Clean facility.
Cons: Food. Carbs carbs and more carbs! The swim up bar should be adult only - never could get to the bar for all the kids up on the stools.
Location: Chapel of Peace is just up the road about 5 minutes - worth the visit. Gorgeous!
The weather was perfect, the beach is small but the water is perfect and the view is superb!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by g, Hotel Management
Please let me thank you in the first place for staying at Park Royal Acapulco, know that our priority is to be very attentive toward you needs and to provide you an exceptional service. It will be a pleasure to host you during your upcoming vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Outdated rooms but great beach

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The beach and pool
Cons: Better beds and mattresses/padding on the beach chairs
Location: We didn't leave the resort but many other guests did. Acapulco isn't the safest place to wonder so we stayed put.
Overall we enjoyed the hotel. I guess you could say you get what you pay for with a 3.5 star hotel. To start with the positive... the staff was very friendly, although many didn't speak English, and the secluded beach was absolutely amazing. The food was mediocre. There were a lot of families with small kids so if you're looking for a private or quiet relaxing hotel, this is not for you. Of course if you're going with a family then this would be perfect. The rooms were clean but old an a bit musty. Also, the thermostat was broken so we were frozen all night, the beds were hard and gave us back aches, the beach chairs didn't have padding so we couldn't relax, and we didn't always have hot water in our room. But I guess overall it was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by g, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had at our resort, our mission is to make every stay as pleasant as possible.I am really sorry we could not prevent this kind of inconveniences from happening during you stay, I look forward to welcome you back in the near future to make sure that you receive the quality service you deserve.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again at park Royal resorts

Posted Jan 22, 2016
I had a bad experience in Cancun location , same here in Acapulco , location in Acapulco is far away from anywhere , food is bad , not enough beach chairs , beach very small, elevator was broken ect. I think they only care is for time share
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by g, Hotel Management
Your comments are very important to us as they help us identify our areas of opportunity and continue to reach our goal which is our guest´s satisfaction. I am really sorry we could not prevent this kind of inconveniences from happening during your stay. Yu can rest assured that proper measures have been taken alongside the responsable manager of each area to avoid future unpleasant circurnstances. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future to make sure that you receive the quality service you deserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My wife's vacation

Posted Oct 27, 2015
I booked this vacation for my wife and friend and they had a blast. They loved the room and view of the ocean and they loved the food and drinks. She came home very happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2015 by hdiaz@park-royalhotels.com, Hotel Management
Celebrate that experience has been outstanding, thank you very much for your kind comments, cordial greetings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from z

Bad service, mediocre food

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The 1 Pro: Clean hotel on a private road away from the dirty public beaches. Cons: The buffets serve mediocre food and to eat at the Trattoria Restaurant, you have to be there promptly at 12 pm to make your reservation. You have to physically go there for the reservation, don't bother trying to call and do it over the phone. The one night we ate there, I got food poisoning and was awake my entire last night vomiting and etc. Also, to get to the pool and beach, you need to take a long and slow lift, which fills up quickly (they only allow 10 people max). I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2015 by diazh123, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback that helps us improve the service offered, we are going to work hard to improve, cordial greetings