Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Welcoming and helpful staff

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The hotel is a little oasis in a quiet residential area. The ground staff up to senior management were helpful and responded well to feedback.
Cons: 1. Not all power sockets in room were working 2. Staff training to find solutions to practical issues that are easily be resolved outside of procedure
Location: Conveniently located for all business purposes.
Charleston Hotel staff made me feel welcome, amid their busy week of conferences and a full-house of guests. All staff were attentive to serving food and drink soon after sitting down at a table by the pool, bar and restaurant. It is a pity that they did not have the ingredients to all menu items at first but they accommodated my repeated request and eventually bought in the ingredients and drinks to make me a happy customer. Given my busy work schedule, where I wanted home comforts at the end of the day, this gesture was most appreciated. All guests are given wifi access for two devices (to maintain good bandwidth for all guests to use) but travellers who come with laptop, 2 mobile phones and a tablet can simply ask to increase this restriction to however many devices they need to connect to the wifi. Don't feel afraid to ask; the hotel will accommodate your needs. Charleston hotel is well presented and feels like an oasis amide a quiet residential area. It is also within easy access to the centre of Accra (access to Uber taxis will greatly facilitate your travel needs). My favourite thing to do after a day of work was take a dip in the pool (even after sunset), shower and then sit on the balcony areas working through emails, where I experienced a nice evening breeze. The reception and management staff were friendly and did their utmost to make me feel happy. I would not hesitate in choosing this hotel again on my next visit to Accra.
5 out of 5
by chari-jaione

A Great Stay

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
A very nice clean Hotel the service was excellent, the employees were fabulous. I would highly recommend this hotel in fact I would diffently go back.
5 out of 5
by chari-jaione

A Great Experience

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing don't know why it is not rated higher.I would go there again.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Johannesburg

comfortable transit stay

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Just a one night transit stay. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was neat and clean, bathroom maybe a little small but OK. Restaurant food was tasty (local fish dish). Would stay again
5 out of 5
by Annick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

visiting family

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
very nice hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the airport

Posted Mar 1, 2016
The facilities are very nice, the rooms, grounds, and pool. The staff on the other hand were terrible; they lied about the transportation to and from the airport; they lied about the fact they sent someone to pick me up, after waiting in the hot sun for about 15 minutes in the hot sun I took a taxi. The restaurant food was very mediocre. They said they took American Express but the front desk clerk did not know how to run it,
5 out of 5
by veronica from Queens New York

Wonderful customer service!

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was quite nice the staff was always helpful and available.
5 out of 5
by sandra from Pittsburgh

Boutique hotel like home

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay, good food, relaxed friendly atmosphere. I will stay here again without hesitation,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Coast

Clean sheets and towels, extra pillows on request

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The TV worked, the fridge in the room worked, the water heater worked, the ceiling lights worked, and the bedside reading lights worked.
Cons: This applies to almost every place in Ghana where there is a service performed: restaurant service at night very slow. But I don't count it.
Location: I am on the fly, off a flight and going shopping before I go home to Cape Coast which is 3-4 hours away from Accra. I am not sightseeing.
The outside appearance of the hotel is pleasing, with tall columns clad in flat stone rectangles in sandy colors. The same stone is used as an accent inside as well. The pool area is nice for dining at night or having drinks. The restaurant gets it right when I ask for something to be made with No Pepper and Not Spicey. The food is good, the chicken and beef kebobs with a honey marinade are really good, tender and well grilled with pieces of onion and green pepper on the skewers. The room is clean and everything works. This includes bedside reading lights, which is amazing to me as many hotels have lamps by the bed, with no outlet or the plug does not fit the socket or the bulb is burnt out. This hotel is managed by people who understand the idea of reading in bed! The breakfast buffet (included) is good, with fresh toast, eggs, coffee, Milo, tea, juices, fresh fruit, dry cereals, porridge, and you serve yourself. This is the 3rd time I have stayed here, and I will probably stay here again. The staff in the dining room at night are a bit slow, but everyone is friendly. The front desk staff are efficient and pleasant. I like this hotel.