Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by junia from England

Business trip-Good choice

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was perfect for my business trip.
3 out of 5
by Henrietta from Virginia, USA

The staff made our stay worth it.

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Royal Rochester staff are what made our stay worth while. The front desk staff are simply amazing. Esther, Mavis, Happy, Brenda and Kofi did an excellent job in meeting our needs and getting prompt service when the air con broke twice and the freezer started smoking the night before we left. The restaurant staff were nice too. The only thing is don't expect food ordered to come out in under 45 mins which is a long time compared to American standard. The food is also quite pricy and there is no wow factor about it. Some times it tasted like stale oil was used. On the bright side, the room had a cooker with an oven so cooking our own meals proved to be tastier and more economical. The hotels a whole looks tired. The photos online are super deceiving. The sheets though clean were worn bare. The towels were a different shade of white. The kind that tells you that other guests have wiped more than their bodies with it. I was not bothered because I carried my own towels for our 2 woks stay. For $200 a night, you would at least expect a fluffy pillow and soft sheets. On the plus side, house keeping was amazing. They cleaned the room every day and changed sheets and towels. Last but not least, I cannot write this review without mentioning Prince from the cleaning staff. He made our stay amazing and with his kindness and warm smiles. He is the true display of the Ghanaian warmth.
4 out of 5
by Ronald from Enfield, UK

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Initial view of hotel at night was quite beautiful with a lighted footbridge over a pool all lighted up. The check in was smooth & we got the staff to bring up our four heavy suitcases up the stairs to the first floor as there were no lifts. Wii Fi codes were supplied but they work better at the ground floor reception area. Breakfast buffet is reasonable but could offer more range. Overall the staff were helpful, but I believe the rates could have been a bit more comparative as one can get in UK. I must say my 18 year daughter enjoyed staying there tremendously as it was her first time in Ghana since a baby & she was impressed by the whole setting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive, but poor quality...

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
Royal Richester Hotel is very expensive compared to the standard. If cleanliness and comfort is importance to you, stay clear of this hotel. My "suite" was very small, no outside windows, dirty and basic items (Wall sockets, lamps etc) were broken. There is no internet in the rooms, only occasionally available internet in the lobby. Power failures were very frequent. Staff was friendly and nice, and deserve recognition, but the standard of this hotel is very low, even for African standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Hyggeligt personale, ingen internet på værelserne

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Har boet på dette hotel i to omgange: i november 2014, og i januar 2015. Siden 2014 fungerer wifi ikke på værelserne. Man må ned i lobbyen for at få adgang. Flere værelser er uden fungerende pengeskab; har man behov for det, må man flytte rundt. Personalet var behjælpsomt med dette. Maden i restauranten er forbedret siden 2014. Personalet er generelt venligt, beliggenheden OK i forhold til lufthavn og universitet - men wifi situationen er ikke tilfredsstillende. I forhold til, hvad der loves er hotellet derfor skuffende.
3 out of 5
by Angie from USA

Expensive hotel for what you got

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels
My first trip to Accra. I booked this hotel per my friend's recommendation. It locates in a quiet neighborhood, not much around and no traffics neither, which is nice. I got a deluxe suite which come with a kitchen. The condition of the room was so so. There were exposed wires and peeled-off paint. The shower pressure was low and the hot water was unreliable. The front desk staff were not very friendly. I travel extensively and generally reset my expectation when I am in countries like Ghana. But the for price I paid, I expected a bit more than what I got.
5 out of 5
by Karin from Liberia

Fantastic hotel staff

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels
My planned one-night transit stay in the Royal Richester was extended to four nights as I broke my foot right upon arrival in Accra. The hotel management and staff were extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful in this special situation, way beyond the call of duty. I was very positively impressed. Cleanliness, quality and speed of service in the hotel are very good, and the rooms are not luxurious, but perfectly adequate.Would use this hotel again any time as well as recommend it to others. Note that the hotel does not have an elevator, which might be problematic for some.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, uk

Ok hotel nothing to rave about

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: It was quiet, except for the roosters crowing at 4 am
Cons: Need to paint rooms and give everything a refresher.
Location: It's in the rich neighbourhood, but nothing to do but stay by the pool or go to the gym.
Was expecting a better room. Windows don't lock and are flimsy so safety is an issue. The breakfast is just ok
5 out of 5
by NUHU GARBA NGASKI from Minna,Nigeria

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels
Have stayed in RR Severally its always being a home away from home. The services are excellent as rendered by competent and humility filled staff. Keep it up.