Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north melbourne

Classic Hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Jumping off the rocks into the beautiful sea fish everywhere a wonderful stay, great breakfast every morning and very friendly staff. Loved the room with a sea view!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

A bit faded around the edges

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Free parking. The situation, outside of Catania. Pleasant staff (except for those in the restaurant who were not very friendly). Clean rooms
Cons: The restaurant which, from our one experience, is dreadful. The breakfast. The general condition of the hotel, which is dated and tired-looking now.
Location: Nearby Aci Castello, with its castle is pleasant The sea, accessed from metal ladders on the (rocky) coast is only recommended for good swimmers.
This was clearly a 4 star hotel when first built but is now in need of some refurbishment. Nevertheless, the hotel in general, and the rooms in particular, are kept very clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and it is good to have on-site, free parking (even if some of the spaces are a bit tight). Breakfast was adequate - no more, no less - and the situation is splendid, perched on a cliff-top overlooking the sea. A car is essential, however, as one needs to drive to nearby Aci Castello town centre to find good restaurants. From our experience, on the first night, the hotel restaurant is appalling - food expensive and of atrocious quality. We ordered swordfish with tempura prawns, which sounded great on the menu. The three, rolled (very thin) slices of swordfish - called pesche spada involtini - were dry and tasteless. The two prawns, which hadn't even been de-veined - had been fried in a thick, flabby batter and were luke-warm; an absolutely disgusting dish. The only decent part of the meal was the chips ( and they should be at 8 Euros for one portion!) and a decent bottle of wine. Not surprisingly, we didn't return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

Quiet and isolated

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The service provided cannot be faulted - the scenery and facilities were excellent. Breakfast was of high quality.
Cons: It would be of enormous advantage if the hotel can provide facilities for the of issue bus tickets from the reception desk.
Location: A bus stop (Bus 534 runs every hour) located outside the hotel and Catania can be easily visited without the need of the car
On a bus route 534 which runs along the coast from Catania which is ideal for those wishing to visit other resorts and Catania. The hotel itself is well laid out and provides adequate outdoor space for swimming in the sea or the hotel pool. It was noted that staff were always in attendance especially monitoring safety of guests whilst swimming in the sea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kitchener ,Ont.

a quiet hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: restaurant , swimming sea and pool . quiet ,restful.
Cons: more attention applied to lifeguarding not towel dispensing or chaise lounge/umbrella adjustment .
Location: not a lot to about that does not require transport to get to .
Second visit in 2 yrs. It's a quiet hotel perhaps best suited to a quiet place to rest for a couple of days while touring . We witnessed 2 wedding celebrations in 6 days , great restaurant . So in short the staff were pretty much doing what they were doing last year to obtain pretty much the same results .They provide a quiet ,often peaceful retreat ,which is friendly ,clean and has a great aspect . There is nothing much within walking distance (1hr) , a couple of pizza restaurants, pharmacy , small fruit , veg and bottled drink stand . Transport is needed taxi's are expensive @ 20E+ to aci castello or catania central , the local bus 1x / hour cheapest @ 1.5E, Car hire . A scuba dive school venue is situated on sight but not related to the hotel as I understand . They offer full courses of for the untrained and for the curious 1hour dives with a "buddy instructor". they have a great restaurant on site "oleander" good food very Sicilian menu .Dispite all these seemingly drawbacks we do like the place .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester U.K

Relaxed and friendly

Posted Jul 24, 2017
We had a lovely relaxed 10 days here, the pool is never crowded, no piped music, a beautiful view, if you you need to just unwind then this is the place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on a rocky shore front.

Posted May 20, 2017
Standard room smaller than expected. Staff were courtious and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by GIACOMO, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, we thank you very much for choosing our hotel. Your opnion is important for us. We hope to give you our ospitality again. The Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, nice view,

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: just view
very dirty room wall, coach and everything very old neglected
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by GIACOMO, Hotel Management
Dear Sir and Madam, we thank you for choosing our hotel. Your opinion is important and your suggestions will be taken to improve our services. Thank you agaijn The management
4 out of 5
by Gerth

Clean hotel and friendly staff

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a room with sea views and requsted a double bed but got 2 singles put together...When told reception about the latter was told that it is not possible to get a double bed with the standard sea view room but they were kind enough to upgrade the room and give me a double bed but with no sea views .... Would recommend the stay in the summary months
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Dead of Winter

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Service, room, restaurant
Cons: Think fee for spa should be included
Location: Easy to get into Duomo where many good restaurants sit next to the fish market.
We had a great time: excellent food in restaurant, responsive staff, comfortable room. Tricky parking. Would come again.
4 out of 5
by Shuet Yee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels