Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Oct 12, 2017
It was an average hotel. Misleading to think it is part of the actual Intercontinental Chain of hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
All sockets dodgy. Towels get taken to wash but are not replaced. Grotty carpets
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT IHG Intercontinental Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
I felt duped. I booked this hotel expecting Intercontinental standards and whilst it wasn't terrible it definitely wasn't up to those standards. There are obvious signs of wear and tear everywhere but most especially in the bathroom. Staff service varied depending on individuals but found reception the weakest: waited 50 minutes for toilet paper delivery to the room and only after a second call was made to chase. Room wifi repair reported was not actioned in 12 hours. I very much doubt I will be returning.
3 out of 5
by Christian from Chicago, IL

Not the real Intercontinental Hotel Group

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Not an over all good hotel. I had a couple of issues with my room. The biggest problems were no hot water and door handle to front door was loose. Called front desk and after waiting about an hour, maintenance was able to fix hot water issue. Though wi-fi was slow, but realized a lot of applications are blocked (I.e. Facebook). Once I used VPN wi-fi worked ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service!

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is an aging international hotel. It's clean enough and comfortable enough for most anyone - but it isn't exactly world-class, as it shows its age in materials and cleanliness - but it is solidly ahead of most of its surroundings. Basically, it looks and feels like a 20 year old hotel, but remains very secure and comfortable. The service of the staff (desk clerks, concierge, housekeeping, bar/restaurants, shuttle service, etc) is absolutely 100% friendly and fantastic, and makes up for any shortcomings from the age of the hotel. Wi-fi is hit-or-miss in the hotel room (as seems to be the case anywhere in Addis) but the wi-fi in the huge, comfortable lobby was largely OK. I would imagine outside the very top 2-3 hotels in Addis, this is a leader in the second-tier. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Nice hotel and comfortable rooms

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Ebookers
This hotel was perfect for our short stay. Comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Nice food and buffet breakfast had wide variety of choice. Internet was a bit limited but that's all over addis so not hotels fault.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The internet both in the room and common areas was awful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
I think it should have been made very clear that this hotel was not part of the Intercontinental chain and that it was no where near being a 5 star property. The interior of the hotel and rooms was very tired and in desperate need of upgrading.
4 out of 5
by Amrit from Dubai

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
All was good except 2 major points. - This is intercontinental but not the one that is linked to International Hotels Group (IHG). So expect the services accordingly. - The WiFi / internet here is very bad. Especially on a business trip this is very much expected. Even when the internet is available, "WhatsApp" which is a critical and quick way of communication has been blocked (WHY !!!) Other things are good.
4 out of 5
by Cornelius

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels