Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with neat and clean rooms

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: neat and clean
Cons: reception area which already is under renewal
Pleasing experience as always with neat and clean rooms. cozy bead. Food was delicious food, courteous staff added much value to comfort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Unfair treatment of guest

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I booked 5 nights with this hotel through Expedia. Due to travel delays, I missed one night which I expected to be charged for. When I arrived the second night, they advised they cancelled my reservation for the rest of the week which I had already paid for. They said I could stay that night I arrived but then I would have to leave next morning. This wasn't sufficient for me - I wanted a hotel I could stay at for the remaining 4 nights instead of rushing around Addis to find a new place the next day. After seeing the room, I decided not to stay there because the halls were run down and the room smelled. Their gym was also lousy. Mistake to reserve with this hotel - after a lot of back and forth with Expedia, I got a refund except they still charged me for the first and second nights (when I actually only stayed in the room for 15 minutes before leaving after arriving second night. I never stayed overnight there). I think this was unreasonable keeping in mind the fact they cancelled my reservation I had booked for five nights. A charge for the first night I missed was reasonable, but not the second (since they had cancelled my reservation for the remaining nights which was an inconvenience). There was an AUC conference that week so I suspect I got kicked out because they could get a higher price for the room. Anyways - many better newer hotels to stay at in Addis at same or lower prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Maedot, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ian Warm Greetings from Jupiter International Hotels!! Thank you for posting your valuable review regarding our hotel. We believe our guest reviews are the back bone of improvement for our services. We were hoping to receive your response through email for our email message we sent weeks ago, before responding to this review. We regret that you could not get the opportunity to experience our rooms and services as you departed quickly even though we promised to follow up your reservation to extend for the whole stay. As you have mentioned we charged one night no show plus for the room you checked in and spent some time because that specific room is registered as checked-in room on the system. We were trying our best to protect you from extra payment, when we cancelled the reservation after waiting until late afternoon on the second day. The only reason the second day the payment was effected is because you arrived and checked in. It would be wrong if we charged your reservation for the whole stay and cancelled your room to get double revenue. We hope you will give us a second chance as we truly believe the condition that unfolded after your travel delay causing your dissatisfaction with our hotel does not reflect our real picture of being comfortable hotels’ nor the excellent service renowned by our repeated and new guests from all over the world. Hospitality Regards, Maedot A. Director of Sales and Marketing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Good value for money

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, location, pleasant staff
Cons: TV kept having problems and I had to call technical staff several times a day to fix it (connection problem
Location: Ideally located
Very well located hotel offering a good experience at an affordable rate. Not quite an international hotel, but a very nice option nevertheless. Hotel is located in the hotel district, next to the Radisson Blu and the Hilton and is quite central. Definitely a good option
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Konjit, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write such a great review. I am delighted to read your feedback and thank you for your comment about our friendly team and location. Our location has been commended by most our guests. However I am concerned to read the comments about the TV. Due to guest feedback we start improving our TV channels problems and we will complete by end of May. Thank you once again for your review we love to get feedback from guests as it tells us what we are doing well and also where we need to improve your comments will inspire the team to consistently deliver great customer service. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future and thank you for staying with us. Kind regards, Konjit Ayele Deputy Managing Director
4 out of 5
by Elias

Nice hotel in the heart of Addis Abeba.

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at Jupiter International hotel. The property is quite clean. Internet connection, however, was not the best.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Antro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay with us at the Jupiter International Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the facilities, great service and location of the hotel. I have passed on your feedback to the team and we all hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards, Konjit Ayele Deputy Managing Director
4 out of 5
by BERT-LOUW

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice Hotel - meets requirements. Breakfast was very average though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Antro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write review of your stay here us at Jupiter International Hotel (Cazanchize). We great appreciate all feedback that we receive and I am delighted to read that you had a good stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read such wonderful comments from our guests. I will pass on your positive comments to all our team members. We look forward to your next stay with us at Jupiter International Hotel. Kind regards. Konjit Ayele Deputy Managing Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, England

Good central hotel: a refuge from the chaos

Posted Feb 18, 2017
It's a very good hotel; food and booze cheap by international standards, great fitness suite with lovely relaxing massage for 350 birr, big rooms with the only complaint being that the mattress is a bit soft and the covers a bit hot. Undisguised Addis experience when you walk out the door - the taxis are a hopeless rip-off
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was good, very professional services
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable rooms

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Leak in the bathroom toilet. Dirty windows and curtains. Room and bed is very comfortable. Breakfast OK. Staff friendly and service is good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Efficient Business Hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
It is a very good hotel. Excellent service, very prompt service and very helpful and courteous staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel overall stay was excellent

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel overall stay was excellent. food was also nice ,staff was very helpful,location was also great. neat and clean hotel.
Location: location was also great
Nice hotel overall stay was excellent. food was also nice ,staff was very helpful,location was also great. neat and clean hotel.